Elise & Chris

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, Iran, Israel, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2019 - 29/05/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! We are a couple from Australia travelling through Europe, from April-December in a campervan, before heading down to the Middle East to continue our journey.
    We plan on doing a few workaways throughout this time and have worked on 3 so far. Setting up an organic apple orchard in Norway, an organic fruit hobby farm in Bavaria Germany and a permaculture farm in Bavaria as well. We are aiming to learn new skills and get ideas to take home with us and of course pass on our knowledge to assist you with your goals and projects.
    We aim to acquire as much knowledge as possible, especially in the fields of permaculture, alternative living and power, eco projects, fermenting foods, bees etc. things we can implement for ourselves one day. We love the great outdoors and sports too, so we’d be more than happy to lend a hand here. But our main reason for travelling is to meet wonderful people, immerse ourselves in the local culture and outdoors, and experience the working life of a local.
    We are very active, love camping, hiking, nearly all sports and we give most things a go. We regard ourselves to have a strong work ethic, having both grown up on farms, where we've learnt to enjoy the satisfaction of a hard days work.
    We Are loving this trip (6 months in), are extremely grateful for all our experiences so far and excited for what’s to come.
    Thank you very much for reading.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Elise grew up on a grape and almond farm in a small country town. She has learnt from her parents a lot about horticulture, assisting with farm duties from a young age. Since then she has been working in the agriculture industry in Melbourne, as a grain trader.
    Chris' parents and extended family grew up on dairy farms so he has a good knowledge of farm life and he has been around animals his whole life. His father is still in the cattle industry and he has been helping him his entire life. Over the past 10 years he has enjoyed labouring as a landscaper, building sheds and horse stables, carpentry and most recently civil infrastructure labourer.
    We are both avid gardeners and enjoy time spent in the kitchen cooking our favourite recipes.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    29 & 29

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • What else ...

    In our spare time we love to hit the road and go on adventures in the outdoors. We are keen hikers and have recently got into downhill mountain biking and absolutely loved it!
    We both enjoy photography and have been getting plenty of practice whilst here. We love music, everything from bush-doofs to collecting old records. Music is a big part of our life.
    If we aren't out exploring then we are usually trying to keep up with our social life, as we dont mind a beer or two, relaxing with mates.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Elise is allergic to cashews, pistachios and pine nuts

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more