Dannie & Dean

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/04/2019 - 30/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, our names are Dannie & Dean and we are a recently married (together 10 years prior), friendly couple from a rural area close to London, England. Affectionately known as "Double D" by friends we are hard working, fast learning & honest people looking for accommodation and comradery on our honeymoon travels through Central & South America.
    Work experience

    Dannie: I have spent the last 10 years working as an Accountant in a large construction firm, and aside from the required finance and computer skills (Excel with advanced formulas & basic VBA, Word, PowerPoint & CODA), I have gained plenty of hands on experience in the building industry taking part in various community projects alongside my fellow site-based colleagues. I also grew up on an ex-farm which has been a building site for the last 20 years and where my whole family has been involved in building the house of our parents dreams without any outside assistance. Before this, I worked in various roles in the hospitality industry, from waitress to barmaid to steward. I've also spent many of my summer holidays involved in major UK festivals (Reading, V-fest etc) in various capacities such as steward, carparker, security guard, litterpicker etc. My hobbies include skydiving, kickboxing, caving, scuba diving and festivals. I'm a creative and outgoing person who loves to read, write, craft things and meet people. I have a very small amount of Spanish but am keen to learn more (I'm currently educating myself via the use of language apps), a bit of French and of course, fluent English.

    Dean: I have 6 years experience working as a water treatment specialist in the UK; installing and maintaining both domestic and large company (Starbucks, Tesco's and Heathrow airport to name a few) purification systems. Before this I also installed and maintained air conditioning units and prior to that, elevators. My current role involves a lot of plumbing, and I also have past experience of bricklaying, roofing, electrics, general construction work (including basic carpentry) as well as roles in the service industry as a bar man & waiter. My hobbies include playing football, socialising, caving, scuba diving and festivals. I love music, cars and video games, am skilled in mechanics and generally very good with my hands. I speak very little Spanish but am willing to learn.

    We both have UK driving licences & PADI certification to 18 metres but could do with a refresher course in the latter. We also did a lot of sailing as kids and would love to get involved in it again.

    In addition, for the past 5 years we have both become key members of a small company called Crew Salam which is owned and run by some of our best friends and in which we have adopted management roles. In the summer months we tour the smaller UK festival scene with them setting up an 18 metre diameter circus tent, erecting a stage, bar and kitchen mainly from wooden pallets and boards as well as making wood-fired pizzas and crepes throughout the festivals before pulling it all down, packing up and preparing for the next…

    This small team of hardworking people has become like family over the years and we would really like to find some employment where we can experience the same kind of teamwork & comradery we have with them.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Finance and computer skills (advanced Excel formulas and basic VBA, Word, PowerPoint and CODA), various Construction skills including Plumbing and Electrics. Mechanical, Hospitality, Bar work, Waiting tables, Farm work and General help/manual labour

  • Languages spoken

    English is our native language. Dannie also has a small amount of Spanish (basics only but I am keen to learn more) and a little French (though very out of practice - I understand more than I can speak!)

  • Age

    33 & 34

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Penicillin (Dannie) Hornets (Dean)

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback