Dianne

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Kenya, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2019 - 01/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    Hi
    I am an outgoing, adventurous and independent woman with a sunny personality. I am young at heart, compassionate and caring. I have recently retired early from the UK's National Health Service (NHS) where I held a senior position for 22 years working in mental health. Some of my work has taken me abroad and has involved working alongside economically challenged NGO's to implement adult community mental health projects (especially peer-supported) as well as developing innovative service models with a recovery (outcomes orientated) focus for both children and adults in the UK. In addition to the above I have a certificate in teaching .

    I would now like to travel, learn new languages, experience new cultures and meet new people. I am happy to support you with my skills gained working in mental health management (skills transferable to many other situations) and the implementation of innovative ideas, if this is something that you need. Having said all that, I have done all the usual stuff for someone my age. I have successfully brought up two children and have managed a busy family home, including cooking, cleaning, looking after pets and some DIY house maintenance, gardening etc. I love nature and rurality and find myself increasingly becoming more ecologically minded, enjoying the more simple things in life. I have also completed most of my teacher training in mindfulness meditation and I am keen to explore its use with both children and adults. I am happy to share this new-found hobby with you.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    All things domestic, including raising children, running a home and everything that goes with that, including cooking, cleaning and gardening. I have renovated a few houses in my time and quite practical when it comes to painting or climbing a ladder etc. Professionally, I am educated to Masters degree level and also have a teaching certificate. I am skilled in developing and implementing research and also innovation projects. I am also skilled in measuring improvement and in evaluation (quantitatively and qualitatively) and formulating reports of findings. Good IT skills have been fundamental to my work along with writing skills (including publications and grant writing). I have good management/business acumen if you need something driving forward. I have a qualification in project management and experience in delivering projects to time and target.

  • Languages spoken

    I am a native speaker of English

  • Age

    59

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I have and interest in the application of Buddhist principles in both mental health and well being generally and have recently undertaken teacher training in Mindfulness Meditation.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback