Dawn

From: Malta

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/07/2018 - 30/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1070

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm a 23 year old student from Malta, and plan on travelling for the next year or so. I've done some travelling before but have not experienced much of Europe, so am looking forward to making the most out of my time - learning, exploring, picking up new skills and revisiting old ones, meeting people, and making connections.
    I am on Workaway because it is a platform that provides the opportunity for a more authentic experience, which may be so much more difficult to get otherwise. You are given the chance to meet locals, to be part of a community, and to give back by contributing your time and your skills. It gives you the chance to meet people who have a genuine interest in sharing and learning from each other.
    As for myself, I like to be outside when it’s possible - in the sun, by the sea, somewhere green. Anywhere with good company and good music. I am endlessly interested in space and the stars, but admittedly my knowledge as yet is far from extensive. My free time I spend exploring, learning, reading, dancing, laughing, drinking, eating! I would say that I am an optimist, and that I am pretty easy going - it takes a lot to get me stressed out. I’m not a perfectionist but when I do something I like to make sure that I do it well.
    Recently I have taken up scuba diving, which has made my love for the sea and connection with it even stronger, and something I love to do when I have enough time is cook and bake - a skill that is slowly improving as I get more practice. In the future I would like to contribute more seriously to environmental and humanitarian issues as they are topics which I find myself becoming increasingly attached to as things progress.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a health care background, am trained in first aid and basic emergency response, and have worked in hospitality, catering, tourism, customer service, sales... ice creams! I also have experience doing work in the garden and painting or renovating, with basic construction, as well as a little bit of sailing.

    I have been responsible for organising events with my university, some of which took place over a number of days at different locations, and involved contacting and managing large groups of people each with their own tasks and responsibilities.

    I enjoy doing work that's hands on, and am up for any sort of job really - the more varied and unusual the better. Always ready to learn if there's someone who's willing to teach.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Maltese

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Maltese

  • What else ...

    Through workaway I have not only been given the opportunity to connect with people in a unique way, getting a little glimpse into their everyday life, but had the chance to learn, share experiences, and gained skills in hospitality, gardening, sailing, construction, skiing, renovation, housekeeping, and so many other things along the way.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Profile is connected to:

traveldebonaire


Photos

Feedback