Stephanie & David

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2019 - 31/08/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We, Stephanie and David, are two seasoned travellers from Belgium.
    After 10 years of pursuing our careers we have decided to take a gap year and do what we like most: travel and getting to know new people and cultures.
    With over 10 years of experience in strategy consulting (David) and hospitality/sales/events (Stephanie), we bring along a large set of skills that we are willing to put at work for our host.
    Besides these, we have a quite solid track record in manual work through having constructed / completely refurbished our house recently.
    We are used to dealing with foreign cultures as we spent a large part of our lives working abroad. Having grown up in a small bilingual part of Belgium, we speak German and French fluently. On top, we also have some solid notions of Spanish and Dutch.
    We love spending our time outdoors, being active and are not afraid of giving “a helping hand” - whatever the task may be.
    As amateurs of good food and wines, we fancy trying new cuisines and cook delicious dishes for our guests at home (You should try our Spaghetti Bolognese or Guacamole :-)).
    We have a hook on nature and preserving the environment. As such, we try to live a life which is sustainable by supporting local producers and reducing our environmental footprint.
    Our main objective registering with work away is to connect and give back to the local community whilst making a positive impact for our host.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    As former professionals, we are strong project managers and good in organizing things. Whereas David is an expert in building up and running successful businesses with all it includes, Stephanie has lots of experience in organizing events and is a skilled saleswoman. Through this, we both are really well used to dealing with people from different backgrounds and cultures.

    Through completely refurbishing our living home ourselves, we have solid notions of all it takes to build and maintain buildings. Sure, we are no professionals but we have the skills necessary to help out in e.g. Plumbing, electricity, carpenting, etc.
    We grew up in Belgian´s countryside and are used to being outdoors, helping e.g. in gardening or with woodwork. Having been exposed to farm life during our childhood, we´re acquainted to work with animals.
    We love food – and preparing it. During our many travels, we learned new cooking skills and recipes whilst refining our traditional cuisine (Central European) . We fancy cooking for other people and wouldn´t mind playing a role for our hosts in preparing the daily menu.

  • Languages spoken

    German, French, English (fluent), Dutch and Spanish (conversational)

  • Age

    32 & 33

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    We are passionate Scuba Divers and fancy long hiking trips. David loves riding motorbikes and is a big fan of Star Wars :-) Stephanie likes horses and her favourite movies are Dirty Dancing and Pretty Woman

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback