Ciara & Philip

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Nepal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/09/2018 - 24/10/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Namaste! We are a couple from England – Phil is from Liverpool, and I (Ciara) am from a town near Manchester. We have been travelling for just over one year now, and are coming to Nepal on the 24th September. I have been to Nepal once before, about 4 years ago. I was volunteering with a charity in the province of Lamjung, and ever since I left I have been wanting to return to your beautiful country!
    We are both new to Workaway, but are really keen to start applying for things!
    Phil and I are both very adventurous, and we love to learn about different cultures and traditions, and the different ways in which people live. Our love of discovering new places and meeting new people is one of the reasons we are travelling. We also believe that it is important to travel if you have the opportunity to do so, as it broadens the mind, helps us to understand one another, and opens up communication between people you may not have met otherwise. And of course the main reason is that it is so much fun!
    Something that helps us travel, which involves a lot of organisation, social interaction, and often stressful situations, is that we are both really easy-going. We have very similar personalities, so it works really well when something goes wrong, we are able to fix it easily and without much hassle. Above all, we are both very respectful travellers; we respect the place that we are in, the people around us and obviously, the laws of the country that we are staying in!

    So, before travelling, we both attended university. I studied Philosophy, Religion and Ethics. I really enjoyed the course and as I focused a lot on Asian religions such as Buddhism and Hinduism, it really helped me gain an in-depth understanding of the culture when visiting the countries where these religions are prominent.
    Before university, I spent a lot of time volunteering. I spent some time in Tanzania and Kenya in Africa, building houses for people in a village, and also working a lot with children and young adults. Their school only offered education for children up to the ages of 10-12, so a lot of teenagers were left with no school to attend. Their wish was to learn English, so we began teaching them English as much as we could, and helped them organise classes.
    As I mentioned before, I also volunteered in Nepal. I was based in a small village called Ram Bazaar in Lamjung, and lived with a Nepali family for three months. We taught some English in the local school, but our main work focused on educating women and girls about reproductive health, a response to what the people in the village seemed to need assistance with. We held workshops and awareness days, to educate people from the village about sexual and reproductive health and hygiene. Overall, we got a really positive response from the women, so it was very encouraging. We also held ‘Community Clean-up Days', where we got people to sign up to help clean up litter around their villages. Additionally, we held an ‘Equality in Education' rally, as we found children were not getting equal treatment due to their caste, which as we understood is a traditional issue in areas of Nepal, the local community agreed that it is something that is unfair and could be worked upon. Although we were only there for a short time, we felt we really made an impact, and I have kept in touch with the families as the people from the village really made an impact on me.


    I (Phil) studied Art at university which, I feel would give me the knowledge to provide art project ideas as well as a creative mind-set to wherever Workaway may take us. As well as this I also have other voluntary experiences, mainly within farming communities, such as a Hare Krishna group in Australia. This experience was a particularly valuable one to me as it opened my eyes into how people can live sustainably and economically friendly. As well as this I was intrigued by the religious beliefs of this group as I have been interested by the many other religions and faiths I have discovered along my travels. For this reason, among many others, I would love the experience of meeting and communicating with the people of Nepal. I am very handy with technology of all sorts as well as building and general maintenance, and would be happy to help out with tasks that people may need assistance with.

    All in all, we feel as though we would be a very valuable and helpful couple. We are willing to do a variety of tasks to help out with whatever may be asked of us during our visit to Nepal!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Phil and I both have a variety of skills:
    Great organisational skills
    Working closely with people of all ages
    Artistic skills - photography, painting, art projects
    Domestic skills - general cleaning, maintenance, handy work
    Technologically savvy
    Skills in the field - farm work, gardening, construction

  • Languages spoken

    English. Limited Nepali

  • Age

    24 & 24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are both vegetarian

Feedback