Kimberly

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Canada - from Aug 2021 until Aug 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello :) My name is Kim, and I'm a 26-year-old university student from a small farming community in southwestern Ontario, Canada. I am currently pursuing my Bachelor of Science in Agriculture with the hopes of one day becoming a veterinarian. I first joined Workaway in 2018 when I took time off school to work and travel abroad and had the amazing opportunity to be hosted by families in Scotland, Belgium, and Germany. My experience was so positive that I once again am looking to do some more Workaway placements but more domestically in Canada due to current travel restrictions! On top of my Workaway experience, I’ve had the opportunity to travel, live, work and volunteer in countries across Africa, North America, Asia and Europe, and am comfortable living in a variety of settings on and off the grid! My dream is to travel the world using my love of animals and passion for agriculture. I enjoy sharing my personal experiences with others and in return would love to learn from yours! I am eager to learn about the various methods of farming that are practiced throughout the world as well as immerse myself in the different cultural aspects of your country! I have a strong interest in all aspects of livestock and animal care as well as farm labour, machinery operation, haying, and field work.

    At my home farm we raise a wide variety of livestock including beef cattle, sheep, laying hens, chickens, turkeys and goats in addition to pet horses, dogs and cats. Outside of my own farm I have years of experience working on large commercial pig, beef, horse, broiler and lamb farms, as well as managing a herd of 3500 Holsteins at a large-scale dairy farm. I have also been employed by 5 different veterinary practices over the years (both large and small animal clinics) and assisted numerous veterinarians with a wide variety of tasks.

    I'm comfortable with all animals and enjoy assisting in birthings, administering medicines, vaccinating, tagging, feeding, and any other care/maintenance related to livestock or farms in general. I am also comfortable with hand/power tools and like driving different types of equipment/machinery/tractors/vehicles. I am a very quick learner so anything I am not familiar with you’ll only have to teach me once!! I’m also eager to learn new things and am very respectful and responsible so would treat anything on your farm/house as if it were my own!

    I love anything to do with nature, hiking, kayaking and being outside in general. I like to stay active and currently play hockey, soccer, baseball as well as horseback riding. I am a low-maintenance type of girl who is happy with just the basic needs. I like living remotely/simply but am also comfortable exploring and seeing the attractions of the big cities. I have no dietary restrictions, enjoy trying new foods, and am happy to help with whatever needs to be done in a given day.

    Growing up on a farm I understand agriculture isn't just a 9 to 5 job!! I am a hard worker who doesn’t stop until the job is done regardless of time or weather. I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty and can be trusted to work both independently or as part of a team. I'm trustworthy, won't need to be babysat, and am happy to earn my keep around your farm! I come from a large, close-knit family so would have no problem adjusting to life in your home! I love kids and enjoy interacting with people of all ages. I consider myself to be very adaptable and would love to be part of your family and see more of what this beautiful world has to offer!

    Thank you for reading and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or want to know more about me!! 😊

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I am comfortable and enjoy working with a wide variety of animals. I especially enjoy the medical care aspect of dealing with animals. I love anything to do with agriculture, farming and being outdoors. Outside of animals I also enjoy field work, crop planting/harvesting, fruit/vegetable harvesting, forestry, machinery/tractor driving etc. I enjoy physical tasks as well as working with my hands in different capacities such as building, repairing, gardening, etc. I know what it is like to be part of a family unit so understand and am willing to help out inside the house when necessary. I also love kids and have lots of experience caring for children of various ages and abilities.

    Ideally I'd like to help with animal care, farming and outdoor work, but I am happy to earn my keep and will help with whatever is needed!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I am fluent in English but am very interested in different languages. I speak a small amount of Spanish as well but have always found the best way to learn a language is to be immersed in the culture and listen to people around you speaking it!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    - full Canadian driver's license (with clean record) - licensed for 10 years now
    - First Aid Certified (with CPR)
    - multiple Health and Safety certifications
    - different agricultural certifications (ex. pesticide safety, needling and medicine handling procedures, etc.)
    - high level of swimming and water safety

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback