Benjamin

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/01/2019 - 18/12/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Benjamin, I am a 27 year old French man from Bordeaux, and I am currently studying at the Superior Institute of Translation of Sevilla (Spain) to be a professional translator for the cinema (from English to French). It is great because I can do it online, which allows me to connect my two main interests : travelling and learning languages.
    Throughout the years I acquired lots of different skills in different fields of work, which allows me to be useful in many situations. I love learning new skills through hard work, whether it is for my brain or for my hands !
    I have always had a passion for languages, and grown really fond of travelling. I started by going three different times to Germany and once to Japan with school, but it is when I went backpacking for the first time with a friend for a month in Japan that I knew I wanted to this my whole life.
    I have then travelled by myself for 10 months to Australia and Japan (again!), and for 6 months across Scandinavia in 2016 (two weeks in the UK, 1 month and a half in Iceland, two months and a half in Norway and Lapland, and one month between Sweden, Denmark and Germany) . Travelling makes me happier than anything else, because I love meeting new people, discovering new cultures, tasting the local food, speaking the local language. It is an endless curiosity !
    Since January 2019 I have been travelling around Norway, a country that I really love, where I have experienced all kinds of things, like sailing, fishing, hiking, beer brewing, farming... can't wait to discover more !

    I also find in Workaway the opportunity to make incredible bonds with people, because beyond work comes friendship. There is nothing better than sharing a good meal and laugh after a hard day of work. I try to find the places where there is a real connexion between the host and the workers.
    I am always very motivated to help in any way that I can, I love having long conversations about anything, I believe I am quite open-minded, and always thankful to be here and to learn from people.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have been wwoofing in Japan and Australia before, so I have learned quite a few things.
    _I took care of sheep and cows and other animals in Australia, Norway and Iceland (learned how to milk a cow !) Which means I had to feed them, clean their closed pens, filter the hay in the winter so the animals wouldn't get sick. It was hundreds of animals each time, so I learned how to be organized and listen to what I had to do.
    _I have worked in several restaurants in Japan and Norway (both as waiter and in the kitchen), which was great because it helped me overcome my "shy" side, being around people and customers all the time.
    _I have worked in forests to cut trees, grass, branches, carry heavy stuff. I learned how to use some tools, like chainsaws, axes, and some heavy machinery as well.
    _I have done a lot of house renovation (painting, nailing, cutting planks)
    _I have had the occasion to teach French to a very small group for a month (loved it)
    _I have spent two months and a half on a Norwegian sailboat to clean the plastic waste off of the coast !
    _I have spent a month building a microbrewery and learning how to brew beer !

    Back in France where I live, I have spent some years at the University :
    _Licence degree (3 years) in British and American History and Literature
    _Master Degree (+2 years) in British and American Civilization

    And I've had some tiny jobs here and there to earn money :
    _Worked as a cashier on weekends for three years
    _Worked on several building sites for houses
    I have also some experience in taking care of children (although not my strong suit), and I like working around the house to help (cooking, cleaning, doing the dishes or going to the grocery store)
    I am also quite handy around computers, since I have been spending LOTS of time with them, whether it was to study, to watch tons of movies, or to play games.

  • Languages spoken

    French, English, German, learning Norwegian (and some Japanese)

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    French

  • What else ...

    I have a real passion for music (although I don't play instruments), for movies (I've been going to the cinema 10 times a month every month for the past three years).
    I also played American Football for three years, and Badminton for two years. I am not the most athletic guy, but I do like playing in a team ! I'm also a big fan of chess.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback