Anna & John

From: Netherlands & Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/03/2021 - 15/03/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling


    We are travelling around South Australia at the moment, working and volunteering along the way.

  • Description

    We are John and Anna, an Australian/Dutch couple that has been travelling on and off for about eight years now.

    We met in Argentina in December 2013. Anna was backpacking, John was riding his pushbike from Colombia to Patagonia. We fell in love and started an adventure together; riding in Australia! We did that for about a year, then house sat for friends in Mount Gambier (SA), spent 18 months working and living in The Netherlands before hopping on our bikes again to explore Europe. By that stage Anna had been granted permanent residency in Australia so we ventured back and settled down in McLaren Vale (SA) for 2 years.

    Early 2020 we set off to ride from Adelaide to Darwin but due to COVID we had to cut that short and went back to work. Later that year we did do an outback pushbike trip which took us from Adelaide via the Oodnadatta Track to Alice Springs. It was quite an adventure! We stayed put in Roxby Downs (SA) for a while, working and living there but it is time to move around again! By car this time.

    When we stay put and work, we do all sorts of things. Apart from working in his trade as a linesman, John has got other skills such as truck driving, tree surgeon, fireman, machine operator and station hand (sheep farm). Anna has got ample experience working as a project manager, done hospitality and worked as a farmhand (chicken and sheep farm).
    We have house sat, lived in shacks on lakes and in motor homes. We enjoy a simple lifestyle when we stay put and usually don't have television. In our spare time we like to go camping, enjoy hikes/walks in national parks or watch a series. Anna likes to cook and experiment with recipes that don't contain processed foods or sugar. In the past we have made our own bread and we would like to know more about making kombucha and growing and preserving our own food.

    Our dream is to one day have our own block of land where we can build a small, off the grid, energy passive house. We are interested in sustainable living and building and prefer rainwater over tap water, moonlight over city lights and travelling by bike over travelling by car (although that has got its advantages).

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Cooking & food
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    John grew up on a sheep station and has a hands on mentality. He has a farming/forestry/earth moving background and also knows his way around electricity. He has got experience in animal handling, fencing and general station jobs and maintenance.

    Anna has good organisation skills due to her Facility Management background and isn't afraid to do things she hasn't done before. Show her how you want something to be done and she will pick it up and do it. She has experience in being a farmhand at a sheep and a chicken farm where she did some animal handling, fencing and odd jobs around the farm. She is also quite handy with computers.

    We have helped out on farms before, putting up fences, helped out at a caravan park, doing gardening, cleaning and general chores and did a few Work Aways where we helped maintaining the house and garden by clearing the property, doing some painting, moving and chopping up trees and weeding.

    We both are active, tidy and organised people who love to work outdoors. We are physically fit and strong and can always find something to do. We don't need guidance all the time and enjoy working independently, making sure jobs get done.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Anna is originally from the Netherlands so she is able to teach Dutch. We both speak some Spanish and are keen to learn and practice more.

  • Age

    40 & 46

  • Nationality

    Dutch, Australian

  • What else ...

    We are not big drinkers but do enjoy a glass of wine or a cold beer every now and then although we can easily go without.

    We are quite sociable but we also enjoy our own space. That means that we are more than looking forward to interact with the Work Away hosts, but that we also like to retreat sometimes.

    We keep track of our tour cycling trips on our Facebook and Instagram accounts Good Life On Bikes. Feel free to check them out!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No requirements although we generally enjoy wholefoods, eat very little refined sugars and are okay with both eating meat and vegetarian meals.

Photos

Feedback