Angela

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Friends (6)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Uruguay - from Oct 2021 until Jan 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello there, I'm Angela. I've been a workaway and wwoof host for the past six/seven years on our organic farm in Suffolk, England. Its been amazing to meet and host hundereds of international volunteers over the years and now its time to have new adventures of my own. I'd like to workaway or a part paid position on a farm or ranch working with livestock. I am an experienced herdsperson and shepherd and am keen to continue to develop these skills further. The past four months have been spent employed as the conservation farmer for The Heart of England Forest which included leading on the lambing of 300 ewes, Llynes, Jacob's and Hebradians and trialing conservation grazing practices. Or use my Forest School and teaching background to work with young people in a natural/farming environment. I have experience in helping farms to diversify into education, glamping and farmers markets and transitioning into conservation grazing. So the plan is to take a couple of years out traveling, Covid restrictions allowing and experience whatever the world offers me and it in return.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Music
    Cooking & food
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    For the past seven years I have been living and working on our 70 acre organic and intentional community farm. Mainly with the sheep and cattle but in all aspects of husbandry including lambing, calving, hand milking or mobile cart, humane home slaughter and butchery. I have general day to day farm maintenance experience and can turn my hand to most practical things once shown. I have a valid Lantra tractor ticket but would like to get more practice. I have some riding experience. I want to learn all I can about becoming a great stock or herdsperson. The past few very busy months lambing on a commercial scale has taught me a huge amount!!

    I like to work physically hard, with people who genuinely love what they do, in all weathers, dealing with whatever situation arises.
    Before I got into agroecology and organic farming I was an ecologist. I have an MSc in Landscape and Wildlife Conservation and was employed by the RSPB and the Wildlife Trusts for 20 years.

    When my own children were little, both now tower over me and off having their own adventures, I was a registered childminder. I am a qualified and experienced Forest Schools Practitioner Level 3. Running Forest Schools sessions with local primary schools, in one of our woodlands on the farm and then for my last workaway hosts. I've never met a person who isn't loved by children and trusted by animals that I couldn't connect with.

    When I do have to be inside, I love to cook. Living in an intentional community with 40 other people cooking traditional British and Greek food, once a week. All from our amazing home produce and from foraging.

    In the evenings I am content in my own company and like to sit by the fire with a bottle of wine. Or, hang out with new friends and laugh. Reggae, dancing, reading and being with honest, hardworking soles makes me happy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    49

  • What else ...

    I'm very much stronger than I look and like to keep my body fit and strong, mainly through the work I do. I practice a form of Makka Ho daily and love to dance! I also enjoy anything that gets me on or in the water SUP boarding, kayaking, rafting and swimming. I like to learn new skills, meet interesting people and have fun in whatever I do.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback