Amber & Daniel

From: Australia & Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Laos, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2018 - 01/04/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    351

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are a friendly and open minded, Australian and Canadian couple in their mid twenties. Amber is a environmental scientist and Dan is a marine biologist. We both have previous experience communicating with people of all backgrounds and sharing our knowledge gained through education and previous endeavours. We are both very hard working, adventurous, quick learners, enjoy embracing what other cultures have to offer, and want to offer something in return. We like the idea of Workaway as we want to experience what life is like in the places we see whilst making a positive contribution and meeting interesting people along the way.

    We have been a part of 7 other Workaway projects so far: two in Malaysia, three in northern Thailand, one in Cambodia, and one in northern Vietnam. During these times we have created engaging educational posters, managed a hostel reception, created multimedia content including promotional videos and photography, babysat young teenagers, gardening, general maintenance, working outside, technical assistance, and eco-construction.

    Interests:
    - Cooking, yoga, hiking, camping, snorkelling/free diving, mountain biking, gardening, photography, and learning about nature

    Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us, we'd love to hear from you!!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - Very proficient with technology and use all types of social media
    - Excellent communicators and have worked teaching all ages about the environment
    - Love to cook creatively (often vegetarian/vegan recipes)
    - Have a background in photography and videography; we own a drone and have gotten amazing pictures of our adventures and are looking forward to continue to use it on our travels (instagram: @aerialexplorers). Also enjoy underwater photography (instagram: @diving_dan)
    - Daniel is a Padi Divemaster and Amber has her Padi Open Water Scuba diving Certification
    - We enjoy gardening and have a keen interest in permaculture and sustainable agricultural practices
    - Some experience with construction work and are both very coordinated and fast learners

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning Spanish

  • Age

    28 & 26

  • Nationality

    Australian and Canadian

  • What else ...

    Our shared passion for nature and our curiosity to explore what it offers has meant we are never bored together, and is what has made us decide we want to travel and do workaway together, too.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback