Alexandre

  • France
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi folks,

    My name is Alex, I'm 33 years old and I'm French.

    I lived (at least that's what I thought) the perfect life in Paris, I had a good job, a lot of friends to go out with, and I released all the stress accumulated by playing sports and working out every day. I was also "the king of organisation" with my little to do lists that I wrote every morning and that reassured me at the end of the day, once everything had been checked.
    And then one day while cleaning my apartment, I came across an old one of these lists, probably several months if not years old, and I realized that it was almost identical to the one I had written that morning...

    So after 5 years as IT manager, I woke up and realized that life is far too short and the world too big to not enjoy every second of it. So I decided to go out of this famous comfort zone, looking for new adventures and experiences. To leave this routine that felt so secure to dive into the unknown.


    Confucius said, "We have two lives, and the second begins when we realize we only have one."
    So I started my life in 2017 when I moved to New Zealand for a year. First big trip, so far and so long, without any specific projects, only my backpack and one night of hotel booked. It was pretty scary at first, but it was definitely worth it. Between memories, meeting people, discoveries, new experiences, I must say that this year was extremely full of emotion and adventures!

    It also gave me the strength and motivation to continue my journey and visit New Caledonia and its ancestral customs, to travel the jungle and seabeds of Thailand, to live on a wild island in Cambodia, to surf and walk in the rice fields in the Philippines, climb the chains of the Annapurna and observe tigers, elephants and rhinos in Nepal, go around the Vietnam on a motorcycle, working as a chef in Australia, discover its people and wildlife... And today after 3 years of travel, to explore Canada! It was my father's dream when he was my age to live here, but unfortunately he never had the chance to do it (I'm pretty sure he has no regrets settling in France though haha), so through this journey I feel like I'm connected to him somehow...

    I spent my previous winter working as a musher in the beautiful area of Quebec, all day long outside, in the woods, being close to nature, taking care of 50 wonderful and amazing sled dogs and refocusing on what really matters in these , let's face it, uncertain times. I had the opportunity to live another incredible adventure during the summer, experiencing tree planting for a whole season and I just could not describe how it has such a massive impact on my life !

    Curious by nature, positive and open-minded, I am passionate, attentive and hard-working. I also like to share time, stories, laughs. I like to stay in shape and spend time outdoors, am passionate about sciences and nutrition in particular, I play guitar and piano, I love animals and I am very attentive with children. I also have my international driving license, do not smoke nor use drugs and try to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Moving is the key !
    I'd say I'm a flexitarian, avoiding meat, fish and dairies 99% of the time, very concerned about the environnement, health and animal wellfare, but also humble enough to accept it when offered and knowing to enjoy it (when the local Filipino fisherman brings a fresh Mahi Mahi to the table and invite you for diner for example !) Anyway, nothing is set in stone :)

    I had hips of experiences with workaway, woofing and helpx, they all went very well and literally changed me and my perception of the world and its people. I definitely like this kind of sharing, looking forward to meeting, learning, and enjoying more special and unique moments.

    I can not wait to explore this beautiful country and its culture, hopefully with you guys :)

    Cheers,

    Alx

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Engineer in computer science, I should be able to give a hand in that field.

    But to be honest, I'd love to get a different life, learn new things about animals, plants, farming, building and eco constructions, permaculture...

    I learnt a lot of skills during my previous workaway experiences, from planting trees, renovating and painting houses, building some stairs, gardening or even riding the quad bike to bring the cattle to the valley with sheepdogs! Not an expert in a specific field, more the versatile type, patient and always excited about learning something new.

    I have also a new project in mind which involve permaculture, eco constructions and healthy lifestyle and I will be more than happy to talk about it with you.

    Again I'm crazy about sport, beeing outside, breathing fresh air, so hard work doesn't bother me at all, on the contrary!

    I could also give some french lessons, cook a meal sometime (lasagna, tiramisu and chocolate mousse are my favorites haha), teach the guitar, the piano and why not the handstand (lol)

    In any case it would be a pleasure to share a bit of my experience.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    French

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback