Adam

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/10/2017 - 05/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Adam, I'm 23 years old, and from Scotland. I’m a friendly, outgoing, and open-minded person who loves a good conversation and sharing stories!
    I like to keep active and be sociable, spending most of my free time with friends, outdoors, walking, camping, cycling, and repairing and riding old motorcycles. I’m also a keen sailor in both dinghies -and recently- in larger yachts.
    I have spent most of my life within the community of a small countryside village, however have just moved back home after living in the city of Glasgow during the last 4 years at University.
    While studying for my degree -in Civil Engineering- I have had the opportunity to make friends with a wide range of interesting people, many of them travelling the world over from various cultures and backgrounds. (This has driven me -even more- to fulfil my lifetime ambition of seeing the world!)
    Travelling to new places and experiencing the unique charms which each community and landscape has to offer is a great interest and love of mine, although I have never done so before on my own, so hope to meet lots of new people, and build some great friendships along the way!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm new to Workaway, but have been employed in a range of jobs over my life.
    Below, I've given a little description of each and some examples of things, which i have experience in, and i can help you with!
    I am very practical, a fast learner, and will ask if I don’t know.
    I love to learn new skills, share ideas, and am always happy to help!

    Construction:
    For the last few years I have been involved in both very large and small scale construction sites, while on work placements and during the summer.
    I've worked as part of a team on a regional hospital project for a global contracting firm, and also, as a labourer for various trades within a smaller building contracting firm.
    During 2017 i was part of a self-led student team constructing a domestic scale wind turbine and solar power scheme from start to finished product.
    The above has given me a good experience of management but in particular “hands on” building skills.
    Some examples of activities within the building trade which I have gained a good understanding, and have practical experience of:
    -Roofing (mainly slate & leadwork)
    -Internal Partitioning
    -Concreting
    -Painting
    -Basic Joinery/woodwork (some friends and I have just completed the build of a wooden forest cabin)
    -Operation of heavy machinery (Tele- handlers, Forklift-trucks, and Mini-diggers)
    -Renewable Power (small scale wind and solar)
    -Management
    -Administration & baisic CAD
    I have some experience of, but am very interested in, traditional building techniques and would like to learn more.

    Rural Estate Handyman:
    I've spent five months working on a local rural estate for the resident family, some tasks include:
    -Clearing Land
    -Gardening
    -Animal Care & Handling (Horses, Sheep, Dogs and other pets.)
    -General Maintainance
    -Grass-Cutting
    -Driving Tractors
    -Helping the family in their large house
    I enjoy tinkering with vehicles and engines, completing most of my own repair work.

    Hotel/Hospitality:
    For 3 years during high school, and for a few weeks previous to writing this, I have worked in a busy local hotel, some of my tasks as a general kitchen/hotel assistant include:
    -Cleaning
    -Washing pots and pans
    -Bar work
    -Basic cookery
    -Helping guests

    Apple-picking and traditional Cidermaking.


    Other Things:
    In 2016 I joined a three week expedition to Iceland with the purpose of measuring and cataloguing the recession of a glacier due to climate change. We used fixed wing UAV’s and photogrammetry to create 3-Dimensional mathematical models. During our time there, the team and I slept in tents, ate, and lived by the glacier, we were essentially isolated from civilisation, it was great!

    I have spent one weeks work experience helping to teach in a local primary school, which I really enjoyed, and hope to have the opportunity to do something similar in the future.

    Wooden boat repair and restoration.

    In each of these workplaces I've always worked hard, and have always been asked to come back!

  • Languages spoken

    English, French (Beginner)

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • What else ...

    I believe good communication and that understanding each other is the key to a happy society. Other than English i can only speak very basic French, however this is something which i'm really hoping to improve upon in the immediate future!
    I sing with my community choir, am a beginner guitarist, and have recently taught myself to play the Scottish whistle, so could give you a traditional jig or two! More-so, I'd love to hear what you're into, if you can play an instrument perhaps we could have a wee jam?
    I am also becoming increasingly interested in self-sufficiency and permacultures, so any knowledge you could share would be greatly appreciated!
    I look forward to meeting you :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

First levelling out of concrete
Fixing re-bar to beam supports
Tea break after a heavy morning!

Feedback