Adam

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/01/2019 - 21/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am a 25 year old Canadian from Niagara Falls, Ontario and will be spending 2019 in Japan on a Working Holiday Visa. I have already spent more than a year in Japan (one year as an eikaiwa English teacher in Kumamoto city and three months doing a couple Workaways in Kyoto at a guesthouse and Okayama at a rural home). Despite spending this much time in Japan, I hardly learned any Japanese, partly due to lack of effort and partly because all of the Japanese people I spent my time with could speak English (and wanted to practice speaking in English with me). I only learned hiragana and katakana, and basic everyday phrases (こんにちわ、いただきます、初めまして、おやすみなさい、美味しい、etc.).

    After returning home to Canada earlier this year, I realized I missed Japan and its people a lot. I probably want to do some kind of work in the future that involves Japan and its people in some way (maybe Tokyo Olympics 2020, tour company, diplomatic work, etc.). The first step is learning Japanese so I can communicate better with its people and understand its culture on a deeper level. My priority for my working holiday in 2019 then is to learn Japanese and gain fluency as fast as possible while building new friendships and learning more about the culture and traditions.

    I approach Workaway arrangements will the same level of commitment and professionalism as anything else. I am conscientious, adaptable, easygoing, and reliable. My hobbies include long distance running (hoping to run a marathon somewhere in Japan in fall 2019), hiking, cycling, watching hockey (of course, I'm Canadian!), and I have an interest in Buddhism.

    *️*️*️*️
    [Note: This is my basic introduction in Japanese, but it has been edited a little bit by a Japanese friend because there were some grammar mistakes before. My Japanese level is not quite this good.]

    こんにちは!はじめまして。

    私はアダム ファンダイダスと申します。ファンダイダスは名字でアダムが名前です。アダムと呼んでください。

    カナダ人で、出身はナイアガラフォールズです。

    現在25歳です。大学で専攻は数学でした。ジョギングやホッケーを見ること(カナダ人ですから)、

    日本の食べ物を食べることが好きです。

    また、仏教にも興味があります。(私の弟はカナダで、曹洞宗を勉強していました。英語ではありましたが...)


    私は2016年に、3ヶ月間初めて日本に行きました。岡山でボランティアの英語の教師をしていました。それから、京都でゲストハウスのボランティアでした。

    昨年は熊本で英会話の教師をしていました。楽しかったです。

    私は日本と日本人が大好きですので、これから日本語を話したいです。でも、日本語はたくさん漢字があるので、とっても難しいですね。

    最近毎日日本語を勉強しますが、話したり聞いたりすることが下手です。

    日本語が上手になりたいです。少しだけ教えてください!

    どうぞよろしくお願いします。

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Corporate/Professional/Computer/Data Analysis: As part of my degree program, I completed two paid internships, one in an IT role at an insurance company and one as part of an actuarial (i.e. insurance math) team at an international consulting company.
    Teaching: I taught English to adult students for one year at an eikaiwa in Kumamoto city. Prior to that, I taught English for two months under a WorkAway arrangement in rural Okayama.
    Outdoor/Gardening/Farming: This past spring I spent two months tree planting (often considered one of the most difficult jobs mentally and physically in the world, see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QxR02N-Sauk). I have also worked for two summers at a greenhouse and have volunteered on organic farms in Canada and Taiwan.
    Cleaning: I volunteered for one month at a guesthouse in Kyoto as part of the cleaning staff. My cleanliness and hygiene standards are high.

  • Languages spoken

    English, very basic Japanese

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Canada

  • What else ...

    I do not have a Facebook account, but here is my LinkedIn profile: www.linkedin.com/in/adam-fundytus-b959a4111

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Photos

Feedback