Help in our coffee plantation and a chance to learn about Ayervedic and Indian traditional style medicine in Coorg, India

Country

India

Favourited 104 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    393

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small coffee planter in coorg in the south of India. We grow coffee, black pepper,cardamom & traditional paddy. We are now trying to augment our income by setting up a home stay in our plantation. we are trying to devolp arganic farming and we have been planning Ayurvedic farming and reasearch etc...

    We are seeking volunteers who can help in managing the Interacting with guest, maintenance like painting , organising ,
    Small maintence constuctions, like patch up , if any one can weld arch welding. Land scaping , building samll swimming pools,

    web devolopment and help in the plantation. Now it is coffee Harvesting so volunteers can help us for harvesting,


    Our family is headed by our mother who has been the force behind managing the plantation for the past 40 years. We are two brothers with our families leaving

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can experience life in a coffee plantation. We are located in the hills of coorg with lots of nature .
    traditional and manual work on coffee harvesting , Can meet all diffrent guest and they can inter act with guest from all over country,Working with workers who worked for 30 years in coffee plantation interacting with them exchanging culture with them, Interacting with guest and nature walk with them in plantation . Working with manual workers will help traditional way of working , We have Ayurvedic doctor in our family workawayers can interact with her to learn indian traditional style medicine. One can learn different kind of construction method .

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    1. Managing the home stay, Managing flower garden,
    2. Interacting with guest,
    3. General house keeping.
    4. organising guest
    5. Painting and upgrading rooms
    6. We have wooden building and we preparing for homstay so work awayers can help us to polish wooden wall and setting up it. we are constucting mud house so we can eccept some help to
    7. Right now coffee harvesing season so help us for harvesing and drying process
    8.Learning Indian Trditional cooking
    9. Small construction, irrigation , plantation work helping with soil.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Kannada: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will share our home with a separate bedroom & western washroom attached.
    Separate kitchen Is available , self cooking will be appreciated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    They can have experience Coorg valley walking or taking private transportation, Read,, they can go to town which is just 15 km from our house. fishing, interacting with host etc...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 858517648878