Come help with my small farm and bees in South Carolina

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️*️*️*️*️*️ I am seriously looking for a farm sitter October 9 through 14, 2019.
    I have two horses (easy care), 2 laying hens (easy) and three dogs pretty darned easy. One of them is deaf and MAY be a bit barky until he gets to know you. Otherwise, they are EASY). *️*️*️*️*️*️*️

    Here is my general intro: I have a small beekeeping and horse farm with a small cottage. I am looking for short term work-awayers with their own transportation. The work would not be rigorous - - - mowing the pastures, painting fence, doing some light trail maintenance, for a few hours a day. Farm-sitting is also a distinct possibility as I am often away and need someone to look after the 3 dogs, 2 horses and 8 chickens. It is EASY and takes very little time, but conscientiousness is VERY IMPORTANT.
    My ideal person would be handy, mobile, and interested in no more than a one week's stay.
    Update: if you have carpentry skills, I need a small, simple chicken coop and fencing to keep chickiedoodles confined.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Beekeeping, some light carpentry work (how to use a skill saw and drill), how to operate a riding lawnmower and weed eater. Some horse care, chicken care.

  • Help

    Help

    Beekeepers are especially welcome! And carpentry!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English some french.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House is recently completely remodeled and is quaint and cosy. You will have a small, private room with a single bed for one person. Sorry, no couples. We will share a bathroom. (Please look elsewhere if you do not shower/bathe daily. The house is too small to share with someone with relaxed hygiene standards.) I am a good, healthful food cook and you will not go hungry!!!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Aiken is a lovely, smallish equestrian town. There are fantastic polo matches on Sundays that are free, horse shows, fox hunting. Hitchcock Woods is a beautiful equestrian/walker friendly forest with 60 miles of trails. Augusta is larger and has a bit more to offer. 15 minutes away. Atlanta is 3 hours away. Beaches are 3 hours away. Mountains are 3 hours away. My place is in a rural, peaceful setting. A good place for quiet and reflection.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours per day

Backyard of my wee cottage.


Host ref number: 858484775183