Beautiful Estate House by the Sea & Mountains. Would you like to part of our family team? United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 1851 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear Workaways

    We live in Torridon, one of the most beautiful areas on the West Coast of Scotland. Our home is an old estate house made up off 150 acres amazing old woodland on the shores of Loch Torridon.

    Sarah and I are both musicians. Sarah plays the fiddle and is specialised in teaching Celtic Fiddle. I work as a producer and composer. We have three young children.

    We moved to Torridon five years ago and we are still in the process developing the place. At this point in time, during the high season (from April to the end of September) the main estate house is run as a Bed & Breakfast, with five B&B rooms and the main dining hall used as the breakfast area. As well as this, there are four self contained cottages rented out as holiday cottages all year round.

    Torridon is truly magical place and if you are looking for a true Scottish Highland experience you will come to the
    right place.

    Safe travels to everyone and all the very best.
    Felix & Sarah

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an open house and a lot of interesting people come by. We are well connected into the community so you will experience some real highland life. During the summer we will have house concerts and other cultural events.

    Of course our surroundings are stunning - so if you are an outdoors type you can enjoy one of the most beautiful landscapes on the West coast of Scotland.

    If you are into woodwork or crafts - you can use our wood workshop to build and make things in your free time. We have had different artist here staying with us painting, composing, writing. If you are interested to learn how to meditate we offer free meditation instructions.

    Also we are very open for any project suggestions if you have skills that you could apply here - any idea are welcome.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned in the about section, during the high season (from April to the end of September) the main estate house is run as a Bed & Breakfast, with five B&B rooms and the main dining hall used as the breakfast area. As well as this, there are four self contained cottages rented out as holiday cottages all year round.

    During the high season we are most specifically looking for people who can clean and prepare the B&B rooms and cottages for guests, help serve breakfast, laundry, household cleaning and other ad hoc tasks.

    Other areas of help can be:
    - Generally supporting the overall house situation and ad hoc tasks
    - Restoring the garden
    - Fixing roads
    - Help with the family
    - Painting
    - Helping in the kitchen

    At the moment we are looking for people who intend to stay for a longer period of time.

    There is usually always a Workaway team of 5 to 10 Workaways depending on the time in the season.

    If you have any specific skills that could be of benefit to us, i.e. carpentry, general maintenance etc., then please let us know. We enjoy making the most of peoples skills.

    If you are looking to get paid for your work please let us know - we can come to an agreement if you have a valid work visa (if you are not from inside the EU - Brexit situation is unclear) and National insurance number as well as an Uk bank account. We recommend a longer stay than four weeks, since we need to go through the employment routine and it would not make sense for just four weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on how many Workaways are here, you will have your own room in the house. The Workaways share an apartment with kitchen, living room and dining room for cooking and hanging out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a very beautiful area by the sea, surrounded by 1000m high mountains, ideal for walking, mountain biking and climbing. Loch Torridon is great for sea kayaking, boating and fishing. We are an open home, which at times can be lively with music and different events or programs like yoga and meditation. We have a meditation room in the house which everyone is invited to use.

    Torridon village is about 1.5 km from the estate, where you can find a small shop and cafe with great atmosphere. The village hall offers yoga, badminton, country dancing, a great fitness studio as well as another cafe.

    Generally very friendly people and great community.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is workspace we can provide . Internet comes from a land line and the faster Internet comes from a 4G mast. If you need to use high volume data it would be good to have your own 4g connection. 4G works really well with the EE privider any questions please ask cheer Felix & Sarah

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    is possible but check in first

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)


















Host ref number: 814391832591