Experience life in Quito by helping with gardening and general house care! Private rooms!

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi travelers! My name is Carlos but everyone knows me as Charly. I am a full time musician at the moment trying to open an environmentally friendly coffee shop. I live 30 min away from the center of Quito in a house that needs some work to be able to host more volunteers. The entire place has two main houses with a huge garden that has avocado trees, lemon trees and other exotic fruits, there's a lot of stores around the house with organic fruits where you can not only help with a safe, fair and sustainable small business but also help with our community. As of right now the work mainly consist in takin care of the house (small repairs, plumbing, gardening etc...), there is many volcanoes, national parks, other small cities and towns within a radius of 3 hours which helps a lot if you are trying to travel every weekend, the transportation to the main bus stations or airport is within 1 hour and there is a bus 1 block away that takes you to "Playón de la Marín" where u can take the ecovía and enjoy the city of Quito from center to north.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The main cultural experience you can have out of this is the actual life in Ecuador, if you want the real experience and be close to the community this is the way to go. Perfect for learning Spanish if you are trying to do that and lots of opportunities to connect with nature and the town itself. Any other activities that I would love to implement is Meditation sessions, yoga, cooking (not completely necessary but preferably vegetarian) and I am open to new ideas that you might want to implement that can help our house and our community!

  • Help

    Help

    The help I need is mainly Gardening and just general help around the house, this could include light plumbing, building and cleaning. The rest could be just fun and creativity since some of the work in the house will be focused on painting, having a colorful artsy environment could become in an interesting project for those who feel creative.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a room, apart from the house but in the same land, view to the garden and the avocado tress (Yes if u want some you can have some :)) This includes 1 bunk bed, closet, private bathroom with private shower for the room as well and a very calm environment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can visit so many places! I can arrange transportation if I have the time and I will do my best to give you the best advice to visit and experience the country while being budget friendly! Transportation is available two blocks from the house and the Volcano Pasochoa and the very active volcano Cotopaxi are about 1h30min away!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 746614278658