Help with Child care and language practice in the hometown of Giant Panda - Chengdu, China.

Country

China

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ABOUT ME
    I’m 33 years old, try to keep fit by jogging, cycling, walking and yoga sometimes. I love to read which is part of my life, go to movies and travel, my plan is to travel around the world. I love to meet new people, learn about cultures and share ideas. I try to do my part to conserve the environment so I minimize the waste as I can.

    I love all the animals, both wild and domestic. If you plan on travelling with your pets, let me know in advance. We can discuss this and make it work for you.

    My major in the university was tourism. After graduation, I worked with an international travelling company and travelled throughout China and other countries. I lived in Xi'an for 9 years, in Singapore for 3 and half years and in Sri Lanka for one year. If you have further travel plan within China, I can assist you with those. I can help you too if any helpers are interested in learning Chinese.


    WHY AM I DOING THIS
    I’m doing this for both giving and getting help as I myself am a traveler too, I understand what is the meaning to be on the way. To me travelling is all about connection and communication otherwise we don’t need to go that far.

    Secondly, it is not easy to learn a totally different language if it is treated as a subject more than a communication tool. So I think it is better for Yoyo to be introduced to different languages from young age. He can speak some words although he could understand us very well. If you are patient and love children, then it will be a very easy job, just spending some time with him, you can teach him some simple words, a song, read stories or maybe just play with him.

    ABOUT MY FAMILY
    There are 4 people in the family: my younger brother CHENG, his wife YANG, Yoyo, and me.

    The couple don’t speak English at all, but they’d love to talk and learn about your cultures and countries, as they haven’t had a chance to travel. They are both kind, warm-hearted and tolerant people.
    My brother and I work and my sister-in-law takes care of house work and Yoyo at home. We need help to take care of Yoyo as she is expecting her second child very soon.

    On weekends or public holidays, we normally go out for a picnic and shopping around the neighborhood. You are welcome to join us.
    We have closer connection with others, even in the communities too. We have visitors often, especially on weekends. This is the Chinese way of life, you will find it is very much different from West. Please be aware of this because I want you to fit into the family well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You are staying with my family. We are quite easy going and love to talk with people. We have two apartments in the same unit and you will have your own room.
    Kitchen and cooking utensils are available. We are more than happy to change food ideas with you if you want. There are chances you may be invited to join us for lunches or dinners on weekends. The reason we don’t provide meals is that our schedule is always changing. Groceries and markets are just around the complex. There are a lot of local restaurants along the street too.
    Unlimited WIFI is provided.
    The room is furnished with A/C too. I would appreciate that everyone practices good conservation and shut off all lights and A/C when not in use. We don’t want anyone to smoke in the house.
    There are gyms and indoor swimming pools within walking distance,and an outdoor swimming pool which is open during summer time in our complex .

  • Help

    Help

    Child care, language practice and teaching skills are needed. My nephew, Yoyo, is almost two years old. There may be some friends in same complex who will play with him. Working times are flexible. For an accommodation we ask you to help 2 hours per day 6 days a week. We prefer that you stay for at least three weeks.
    Family or single parent with kids are welcome too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Chinese(simplified),English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As I mentioned above, you will have your own room. Everything you need is just around the neighborhood. It's quite convenient to live here. Our eating times are not set that's why we don't promise the meals. Grocery stores, markets and restaurants are within walking distance. You can use the all kitchen and cooking utensils. We like to invite you for the lunches or dinners on weekends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    PLACES TO GO AND THE TRANSPORTATION
    The location of my home is easy to find. It’s just walking distance to the subway station. Quite convenient to almost anywhere.
    Places around the city: Kuan Zhai Alley, Jin Li, Wu Hou Ci, Du Fu Cao Tang, Panda Reserch Base, Qing Cheng Mountain, E Mei Mountain, Le Mountain, Jiu Zhai Gou, Hai Luo Gou, and so on.
    Famous local cuisine you must try: Hot Pot, Gong Bao Chicken, Ma Po Tofu, Chai Huo Chicken, Paper-wrapped Fish, Pickled Fish, Preserved Szechuan Pickles, Chuan Chuan(skewers), Nao Hua (pig’s brain), Bing Fen(dessert), and so many more.
    Please be aware that Chengdu food is very spicy. If you like spicy food you will be in the heaven.
    I will leave a list of places and foods with details in your room. Feel free to ask if you have any questions.

    OTHER THINGS
    You will be expected to:
    1, Pls DO NOT smoke in the house;
    2, Try to keep your room clean and tidy;
    3, Remember to clean the kitchen and bathroom after using.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2.5 hours a day, 6 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)






Host ref number: 728773671224