Self-sufficiency and community projects in Koevtsi, a small village in northern Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    We are Ludovic and Anaïs, a French couple who travelled 4 years by hitchhiking and cycling through South America and Europe.
    Three and a half years ago we decided do not using money anymore for political and ecological reasons. During a volunteer work in Bulgaria we met a couple from USA and we talked a lot about our dream of a fairer world and a simple life where relationships between human beings would be based on benevolence and respect. They offered us to renovate one of their houses in exchange for living there. Our project: to be self-sufficient in food and energy while developing community projects to make Koevtsi, a small village in northern Bulgaria, lives again.
    If you want to participate in this project, be immersed in the Bulgarian culture and if the work does not scare you, welcome!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will share the daily life of a small Bulgarian village where about 50 locals live.
    We are in the process of learning the language, so we won't be able to teach it to you, but maybe we will be able to learn new vocabulary together :)
    You will experience living as a community, where everyone works to contribute to the community goals.
    Because of our choice of life, we have a lot of experience in self-sufficiency and we can teach you: recycling, gardening...

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks you will do will be various: renovations, preparation of the vegetable garden, maintenance of the outside...
    Our idea is to use as many recycled materials as possible in order to limit the impact on the environment.
    If you have special skills in construction, gardening or if you are creative, that's great! But if you don't, no problem. We just expect you to be motivated and independent.
    The most important thing is the human relationship, the exchange of ideas that will be created around our meeting and the emulation born from the work we will do together!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    Bulgarian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation in the common house where you will have your private room.
    Washing machine on site.
    All meals included (vegetarian diet possible).
    Obviously we will share the daily tasks (cooking, cleaning...)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Koevtsi is central in Bulgaria.
    From the village, you can go hiking and discover the surrounding nature and other points of interest: ruins of castles, caves, waterfalls, rivers...
    Veliko Tarnovo (1 hour by car) // Sofía (2 hours by car)
    Hitchhiking works very well!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 675563679641