Help us with gardening and house painting in our Portland home, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 40 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    2020 Update: We're disappointed to say that we will NOT be accepting any guests in 2020 (and potentially even 2021), due to COVID-19. We really enjoyed our 2019 Workawayer and the experience, but we're choosing safety for our home and family first. Thanks for understanding.

    2019 Update: Our cat sitting/house sitting needs have been met for 2019. We will probably need some help with gardening stuff and house painting for the summer of 2020. Please bookmark us if you may be interested in this sort of work. Otherwise, we aren't accepting workers at this time. Thanks for looking!

    We need an awesome cat sitter for 3 weeks in October in Portland, US.

    My husband (Dan) and I (Windy) have a cozy, two-bedroom, one-bath home in SE Portland, Oregon. We like to host travelers during the summer months and are now ready to take our turn at being guests in Europe. Therefore, we're looking for someone to stay with us in October. We're excited to host you during the first week. We'll show you around, have you meet our cat, and then we'll be in Europe until the end of October. You're welcome to stay an additional week after we return, or head off to your next adventure! While we are new to Workaway, we would like someone who has recommendations from other hosts (or, other website profiles with references).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ideally, we'd like someone who could come a few days to a week before we leave, so we can show you the ins and outs of how things operate. In return, we'll help you navigate around our fair town, give you a "locals" perspective of what to see and do, and provide you with a comfy room to come home to at the end of the day.

    There is so much to see and do in Portland. The Portland Farmers Market at PSU is the second largest farmers market in the United States. It's open, rain or shine, every Saturday from 9AM to 2PM. Nearby Forest Park is is one of the country's largest urban forest reserves, offering about 70 miles (110 km) of recreational trails, including the Wildwood Trail segment of the city's 40-Mile Loop system, that crisscrosses the park. The Portland Art Museum hosts Free First Thursdays (October 3rd), and the Portland Art Museum is the seventh oldest museum in the United States (and the oldest in the Pacific Northwest).

    We love learning about new people and spending time with them. We would be happy to talk about making music, gardening, wood carving, photography, and sightseeing (just to name a few), as these are our passions.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to care for our senior cat while we're away. She doesn't require any medication and is (as of this writing) healthy and happy. We usually feed her twice a day, but she is just fine with once a day (occasionally), if you wanted to spend the night visiting the coast or taking a day trip somewhere. She's a very social cat, so we'd like someone who can give her attention while we're gone. We've listed "gardening" as something we'll need help with too. However, are growing season is almost over and there really won't be too much (if anything) to do in the garden).

    YOU should LOVE animals (especially cats). You should RESPECT our home (and house rules). Mostly, you should ENJOY exploring all that Portland has to offer! While October isn't peak travel season, you can still discover what put Portland on the foodie map. :-)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room. There is a shared bathroom, but it will be all yours while we're away. We will provide a food stipend for you too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We try to tread gently upon the earth. We don't use harsh, household chemicals, we are water conservationists (we flush when *needed* and take short showers), and believe not only in recycling, but also buying without packaging... keeping our waste output to a minimum (as much as we can). We have several bicycles and you're more than welcome to use the one that fits you best, while you stay at our home. We also live one block away from a "Frequent Service" bus line that can get you from our home to downtown in less than 30 minutes. However, downtown isn't the main attraction in Portland. We recommend visiting the quaint and idyllic surrounding Southeast neighborhoods: Hawthorne, Belmont, Montavilla, Sellwood, etc. We're closest to SE Division... but everything in Portland is so close that you'll have time to explore EVERY quadrant!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 1–2 hours a day, 7 days a week

Portland, Oregon, in October!
Relax in our yard.
Our home in Spring.
Our senior cat, Layla!
This is us... Dan and Windy.

Host ref number: 614499764855