Come to live among highest Ecuadorian volcanos and help us at our flower farm! Patután in the province of Cotopaxi



Favourited 51 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️ Please contact this host in Spanish *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    We are a small family, dedicated to the cultivation of beautiful flowers called carnations. We live 100 km from the airport of Quito in a town called Patután in the province of Cotopaxi. We have the privilege of living in the middle of the Andes mountain range with a beautiful view to most volcanoes and snowcapped mountains of Ecuador such as El Chimborazao, Tungurahua, Altares, Cotopaxi and the Ilinizas. The town where we live is small, surrounded by stunning landscapes. It is a perfect place for hiking both volcanos and mountains, as well as for mountain biking. We also have a small farm with animals such as pigs and chickens. Environment is really important to us and we are very keen on learning about different cultures from all over the world.

    Somos una pequeña familia y nos dedicamos al cultivo y comercialización del clavel y alely, vivimos a 100 km del aeropuerto de la capital Quito en un pueblo llamado Patután perteneciente al cantón Latacunga de la provincia de Cotopaxi, tenemos el privilegio de vivir en la mitad de la cordillera de los andes con una vista muy hermosa a la mayoría de volcanes y nevados del Ecuador como El Chimborazao, Tungurahua, Altares, Cotopaxi y los Ilinizas, el pueblo donde vivimos es pequeño y pintoresco paisajes muy hermosos en nuestro entorno aptos para practicar senderismo, ciclismo y alta montaña, tenemos una pequeña granja con animales como cerdos gallinas y otros, soy una persona muy sociable y respetusa del medio ambiente.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come and learn all about the production chain of carnations and alelí and get to know the beautiful varieties of flowers we have. You would also have a great opportunity to experience a true exchange of traditions, culture and gastronomy with our family and with other families from the coast and east of Ecuador. We are very close to the highest mountains of Ecuador for example Cotopaxi park is half an hour away, the Ilinizas is one hour and you can get to the entrance of El Chimborazo at 2 hours. We are mountains, cycling and adventure lovers so if you would like we can share many adventures together!

    Venga y aprenderán toda la cadena de producción de clavel y alelí conocerán todas las hermosas variedades de flores que tenemos.
    Además podemos realizar Intercambio de tradiciones, cultura y gastronomía con nuestra familia y con otras familias de la costa y oriente de nuestro Ecuador.
    Tenemos muy cerca las montañas más altas del Ecuador por ejemplo en Cotopaxi está a media hora de camino, los Ilinizas a una hora y El Chimborazo a 2 horas.
    Somo amantes a la aventura de montaña y ciclismo y podemos compartir muchas aventuras juntos

  • Help


    We need people to help in our cultivation of carnation and alelí which inludes planting, harvesting, cleaning and processing of bounches, help in the post harvest room and also preparation of the flowers.
    We would love to learn English as it is really important not only for our business, but also for the future of our kids. We need English clases and help to improve our communication with foregin clients. People who have knowledge about agriculture and alternative medicine, who would like to share culture, traditions and cuisine from their own countries are also very welcome here!

    Necesito personas para que ayuden en nuestros cultivos de clavel y alelí en labores culturales como siembras, estructurado, limpieza cosecha y proceso de los bounches, ayuda en la sala de post cosecha en la preparación de bounches y empaque del clavel y alelí.
    Necesitamos recibir clases de inglés, asesoría y traducción con clientes extranjeros, personas que tenga conocimiento sobre agricultura y medicina alternativa, que compartan y elaboren comidas típica y actual de cada uno de sus países, compartir diferentes conocimientos, tradiciones y culturas,

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We offer an apartment with two bedrooms for up to 6 people, a kitchen and a bathroom.
    From Monday to Friday we offer three dishes per day.
    Saturdays and Sundays we do not work nor do we offer food, these days you can take advantage of sightseeing! We can provide 3 meals a day (breakfast-lunch-dinner) during the week days Monday - Friday. As the farm is closed on the weekends we cannot provide food but the volunteers would have the access to the kitchen.

    Ofrecemos un departamento con dos dormitorios con capacidad para 6 personas, cocina y baño privado
    De lunes a viernes ofrecemos tres platos por día
    Sábados y domingos no trabajamos ni tampoco ofrecemos comida, estos días puedes aprovechar para hacer turismo.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.6)

Host ref number: 613665577449