Join us in Märsta, a quiet family town close to Stockholm, Sweden

Country

Sweden

new host  

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an open-minded family with two teenage girls (13 and 17 years old) and one baby (16 months old). Both engineers working in the same company. Tom is currently on parental leave and I work mostly from home. The toddler goes to kindergarten in the morning and then sleeps at home until 3 pm. Since he is a bilingual toddler, in a very sensitive period of learning basics of both languages, it is important to communicate with him either in Swedish or in Croatian.
    The teenage girls leave for school at 7 a.m. and return around 5 p.m. We love nature, long walks and bike rides, swimming, music, tennis, skiing, flying, board games, laughing ... it’s actually a lot of what we love. We are originally from Croatia and have been living in Sweden for a little over a year and a half. This summer we bought a flat and moved to a quiet family city not far from Stockholm and only 10 mins from Arlanda Airport. My husband and I have a great passion for flying, and we are both pilots. Our hobby is gliding, and we spend many weekends in our flying club.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a wacky, cheerful family with a lot of skills and knowledge. We live 30min from the centre of Stockholm and 10 km from the beautiful old town of Sigtuna. Furthermore, we speak Croatian, and we are both glider pilots. We can offer the interested worker a unique opportunity to fly in a beautiful two-seater glider plane (Duo discus) over the Uppsala.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need general household help. Routine housekeeping (like vacuuming and laundry) and lunch cooking. Not more than 2 h/day. My husband and I love swimming and tennis very much, but we don’t have time to engage in these activities together. We expect the Workawayer to keep an eye on the youngest member of the family for 2 hours at least 5 days a week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Swedish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 75 m² flat with two bedrooms. We use one room with our baby and the other room is used by our daughters (who are mostly not at home during the day). So we can provide Workawayer our living room with huge sleeping bed. As for food, we are responsible for groceries and the guest is welcome with us for all meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very close to the bus station from where you can be in city centre in 10 min and took a train to Stockholm or Uppsala. You can also go swimming or waking in the nature as we live very close to the Nature park. Or you can visit Sigtuna and beautiful lake Malaren. Go in the wood to play Disc golf or spend a day with us in our flying club in Uppsala.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 586245566768