Help me put some finishing touches to my bungalow on the island of Huahine in French Polynesia

Country

French Polynesia

Favourited 131 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an American artist, painter, living on the island of Huahine in French Polynesia since 1999. I have built a local style house, studio-gallery, and bungalow in a lovely spot near the ocean. I share the space with a local man whose family lives next door. I recently began building a nicer bungalow in the garden, and though it is quite beautiful and fairly livable, I need some help with the finishing touches. I also need general help with various cleaning and organizing projects, bike repair, gardening, and sometimes serving ice cream or greeting people who want to visit my gallery or feeding the dogs if I have to be out for a little while. The sound of the reef crashing on the waves is omnipresent, the perfume of jasmine floats through the yard, papayas and bananas ripen and various edibles are growing in the garden. I have some old beach bikes for exploring the beautiful beaches nearby and the ancient fish traps and stone vestiges in the village.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Well, I am a successful painter, and have a little studio gallery here where I spend a lot of time working. I speak english and french. I have been here 20 years and can share a lot of my observations and experiences in this culture.

  • Help

    Help

    people with building skills would be great, but some things I'd like to do are just muscle help--moving things around, digging, planting, weeding, keeping up with repairs (bikes, cars, buildings), and cleaning in my studio, house, garage, and back bungalow. I sometimes need to be out for a little while to paint "en plein air" and it would be nice to have someone present who could greet tourists if they happen by. I'd love some help with eco projects though I don't really have anything special in mind, but open to suggestions, and same with computer help...always happy to have some help in that department! I have 2 dogs and 2 cats currently and they like having company too. The resident Tahitian is 100% and all that it implies--often who knows where doing who knows what?! Charming and impossible to rely on!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a big space on the upper level of the bungalow in the backyard that is set up with beds and mosquito nets, and has it's own separate bathroom. Currently I have not set up the downstairs yet, but there is a stove and all the necessary things for a kitchen. Table, chairs and such also. My refridgerator is on standby, it was working but not staying cold so I hope to find out if it needs a recharge. In the meantime my personal space is an open floor plan local style house which can accommodate people cooking and eating, and I enjoy that.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    the village of Maeva is a short walk from here, and has a little museum and archeological sites. There are hikes on the mountains right there too. The beach is very close, and there are several places to go to look for shells or snorkel or swim. A short bike ride from here is the "blue eyed" eel attraction, and the pearl farm to visit. The main town is 8km away, with shops and restaurants. I have bikes and a car.
    I like having people around, I am a pretty easy going person. I like when people are respectful and polite and open and authentic. I am a pretty independent person, I like to have space to be in my little artist bubble but I am also very sociable and enjoy stories and sharing information. I have lots to read. I do an hour of yoga and meditation every morning. I'm not a super cook--I can cook nice meals I just don't do it much because I'd rather be doing something else! I like to bake cakes fairly often, and I love eating vegetables, and salads and fruit...not very fond of cigarette smoking...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 484891947416