Volunteer with a family in Mallorca, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 195 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/05/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please only contact us if you can spend at least one month here. We are looking for help in the garden and with construction projects. We speak English at home, live in the country with a good amount of outdoor space and tranquility but are 2 minutes (by car) from the third largest city in the center of Mallorca (Inca). We are also 20 minutes from the capital of the island (Palma). The price of the train/bus (1.5 kms from home) to most of the places on the island varies: single trips are expensive (3 euros) but if you get a train card you can buy 40 trips (to use within 45 days) it costs 45.80 euros ( 1.15 euros per trip) and if you buy 20 trips to use within 1 year it costs 30.40 euros (1.52 euros per trip).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to find a couple that can help inside and outside the house.

    There is work outside (gardening, etc.) and we have some construction projects we would like to finish, so somebody with experience in construction would be a plus.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room, kitchen and bathroom in separate house (adjacent to our house) in the countryside. We will lend the workawayers bicycles to move around (deposit required). About the Internet: we use our Internet for work, but we like to offer it to the Workawayers who stay with us as a courtesy because we know it can be a help for them to stay connected with email and to look things up on the Internet, but it should not be used for downloading movies, music, constant video calls like skype (a little is okay), or other high-bandwidth or illegal internet uses because these cause problems for us (we will know if these activities are happening on our network). If a workawayer does this we then have to stop providing internet and they have to go to an Internet cafe or a library to get internet and this would also make the living situation and our relationship more difficult, so please be responsible. Thanks! You can get lots of movies for free from the local library and we also have lots of DVDs (mostly cartoons) that we can lend you that are good especially if you are trying to learn English or Spanish..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Another reason why we need couples is because we are very busy and don't have much time to spend with workawayers, that's why we will give you 50 € a week (total for both Workawayers) and you can buy and cook your own food.

    This way you can be with each other during your free time, explore the island together and have touristy adventures. We have already seen the island and can't take workawayers to the touristy places we have already been many times. Sundays would be the only day we could spend time with you if you want to go somewhere with us (unless we are invited to a friend's house and we can not include you). Otherwise we will ask you if you want to come with us when we have an outing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Monday through Friday 2pm to 8pm (1hour break 5:30 to 6:30).

Bedroom in another building with a double bed and a sofa/bed under it.
Jeremy, Maria and Gabriel at one of the most fun places on Mallorca - Katmandu Park.
Workawayers' private bathroom.
Workawayers' private bathroom.
Birthday party in our kitchen.
Outside of our house.
Jeremy and our son (Gabriel) at the entrance of our house.







Host ref number: 438331965998