Learn about Portuguese culture, enjoy the beauty and diversity of nature around us in Aljezur, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 309 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/07/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am German and live in Portugal most of the time. I just got three beautyfull Fresian horses and could really use a hand taking care of the happy bunch. :)
    It's a Mama with her two children. (The little stallion is three and his older sister is four and a half years old.)
    I love cultural exchange and allways get a kick out of hearing other languages. I find it amazing how we humans deep down all are the same with similar needs and longings, but how we all have our own customs and languages.
    I think all of our unique differences make this world the cool and fun place it is. :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about the portuguiese culture and you can also sign up for surflessons at the beach that is like 20 km from us. I can teach you a lot about the portuguiese culture, openheartedness and the language. I will love to show you the beauty and diversity of nature around us. It's also a cool place to improve your English because the surfer crowds at the beach are of all cultures and usually all meet in English. :)

  • Help

    Help

    I like kind people to help me care for my Fresian horses. For now I will need help with fencing, fence maintance and feeding.
    In addition to the horse care I like help in caring for our organic veggiegarden. I can also use handy people for decluttering, cleaning and remodelling the 200 year old farmhouse. Strong guys with carpentry or electrical skills welcome. :)
    Sometimes we go help Vitorino my next door portuguiese farmer with his 50 cows.
    Currently it still is quite rugged with only a compost toilet and a hose as a shower
    :)
    Internet reception is lousy for the moment until we got the satlite internet set up.
    But its beautyful and truely charming out here.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Either the camper or if that is taken a tent.
    Vegetarian food can be included, so the work is 5 hours work per day. If you buy your own food its 3 hours per day.
    Since I love all the different languages I usually still accept woofers even when the camper is allready taken. At least in the summer it usually is quite crowded here. We have enough work around here and enough space around the house and cute secluded little spots in the garden for a tent. That way we allways have a fun group of mixed nationalities. After all, the more different nationalities under one roof, the merrier it gets for all of us. :)
    However, if you are not into working together in a large multicultural woofing group, the calmer winters could be more fun for you. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the Algarve not too far from most beautiful surfbeaches Praia Armado, Arrifana and Monte Clerigo (20 - 25 km).
    On the way to Monte Clerigo is a Skater club Boa Vida where they have the coolest mellow parties Wednesdays and Saturdays. After the Boa Vida closes, they all go to the after party at Hugo's Bar and dance their socks off. :)
    On other days in the week are fun Beachpartys at Monte Clerigo which are fun after a day of surfing.
    Currently during the Corona virus panik its a bit more quite around here though.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 317384347732