Help with DIY, garden, farmyard, building and carpentry........old farmhouse in Montone, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    hi everybody,

    I live in a beautiful old house between Perugia and Città di Castello in the green heart of central Italy; Umbria! The house is old and we are slowly working on it, restoring parts of it and tidying up. There is always a lot to do! We are a creative couple and are often converting old pieces of wood and old doors into up-cycled furniture!

    I am from Rome, a curator of a contemporary gallery in Umbertide and a great cook! I am looking for relaxed, easy-going people who can manage a balance of being independent and respecting our privacy but are friendly and sociable and would be happy to spend one or two evenings together.

    I have a guest's room with access to kitchen and bathroom. In return for free accommodation I would ask you for a few hours each day to help us with some DIY and cleaning jobs around the property. I can also supply you with fresh fruit and veg from the Orto, fresh eggs and a few other kitchen basics.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    there are many things to do…

    making and repairing fences,
    cutting the grass and helping out with the animals and vegetable garden (we have a large vegetable garden, chickens, ducks and geese)
    repairing old doors and windows,
    turning part of the lawn in front of the house into a car parking area
    re-building an old stone wall
    general house cleaning

    - I would be interested in hosting people with carpentry skills, building and DIY skills etc as we are a practical pair but we want some help with some bigger jobs and to learn some new skills from you!

    - on the other side of things.....I would also be interested in anyone who could help out at the gallery with general admin, marketing, PR and flyering. If you have any experience in the arts or marketing that would be great! You would need to be creative and sociable and preferably good at selling and promoting!


    so some help with these things, for a bed and food, GOOD, LOCAL, FRESH food :), it sounds fair! doesn't it?


    so if you're interested in coming to help us, don't hesitate to ask us for more info!

    speak to you soon

    Francesco

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    italian, english, spanish, french (I understand a little)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room for guests. In return for free accommodation we would ask you for a few hours each day to help us with some DIY and cleaning jobs around the property. We can also supply you with fresh fruit and veg from our Orto, fresh eggs and a few other kitchen basics.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Montone is a peaceful hilltown in a beautiful panoramic position between two tributaries of the Tiber river. It was formerly controlled by the families which dominated the area, such as the Del Monte, the Fortebraccio and the Vitelli families. However, around the middle of the 16th century the town was ceded to the Papal State.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

this summer, first attempt with corn farming :)
Me (on the left:P) working in my gallery!
Main entrance :)




Host ref number: 315835215759