Lifely colorful patchwork family wants to experience having a volunteer in our family life. Odenwald, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    81

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a lifely patchwork family of five people with totally different personalities and interests.
    Me, Sandra 37, my son Leo 13 years, my son Joshua 10 years and my youngest son Laurent 8 years old.

    About our motivation:
    We love to experience new things, so we decided to invite a volunteer to our home.
    I had been an au pair myself when I was younger. And now I'd like to be on the other side as a host.

    About the help which is requested:
    I also would be happy to have some basic help in the household (brooming, vacuuming, dish washing) and with the kids. Maybe in the garden in spring if interested.
    I can all do it on my own of course, but it would be nice to share more, so the boys see, it's not only mommy cleaning and dusting *️️️️laugh*️️️️ other people do that, too.
    I am working from home e few hours a week and it's nice to concentrate continuously on an topic without being interrupted.
    I would be happy if the kids would open up to you so you could play together for a while without needing me.

    About us:
    My sons visits a reform pedagogy school which means their impulses lead them to their knowledge.
    Finding answers to their many curious questions about animals, nature, science...the world, is the way.
    There are no classes and no marks.
    School Philosohy is about relationship and connection, about empathy and open-mindness...every person in this world is unique, has different needs and interests and they can be who they are in this environment and develop in their own pace.

    (Thats the text of the school site:
    "Who we are
    We are a unique alternative, democratic school situated within the beautiful nature park of the Odenwald, Germany.
    The school provides children with the opportunity to decide about their own learning and progress, they pursue their
    own interests, and are free to decide whether they want to spend time in- or outdoors. We think that free play is a
    crucial part in the development of children - therefore the freedom to play is explicitly included in our idea for the
    school that also incorporates elements of "non-violent communication" and the "non-directive" approach by Rebeca
    Wild. Every day is unique and dynamic at our school that is run on par with the children, fuelled by their interests and
    diverse daily activities.")


    Our motto learning by doing and trial and error. It's our inner motivation which let's us learn everything we need for our lifes so my conviction...and we've got it allready created in us. We just need to discover it.

    I am learning the same way. Cooking, building, repairing things, creating furniture from Trash, sewing, gardening, everything.

    about our living:
    We live in an old big house with lots of space and fireplaces to get the house warm, with a nice garden in the middle of the legendary “Odenwald” geological nature park, in Germany.
    So you have to be open to old school heating the oven to get it warm and cosy ;-)
    The five of us are currently renovating and prepairing the furnitured room which will be the private retreat for any volonteer in the future. If ready, there will be some pictures.

    About our location:
    There are manifold possibilies to go on adventure tours around here. Heve a look at the link above.
    There are buses from our village to get to supermarkets and train staion. We also have a car, so we are mobile.

    About the food:
    We have most of the meals together. If you want to join us, be our guest. We eat a lot of fresh vegetables, Salads and fruits. We buy our food at a little family farm nearby who sells biological food. We eat some meat or fish as well even if it is a permanent topic how animals are treated. It's about ethics und health. We had phases not eating any dead animals as well. So it's a changing process.

    About our interests:
    animals (we have cats, chicken, a bartagame)
    Frolic around, Playing together
    Preparing food together
    Lego
    Mineralogy, Biology, Astronomy
    Middle age and knights (Falk is a castle guide showing tourist around Burg Frankenstein and knows all the secrets, legends and sagas to tell)
    Music, Dancing
    Fire fighting
    Trying to run a tardis as timelords do (Doctor Who :-)
    And thousand other things

    If you are interested in getting to know us better, feel free to contact us. Maybe we can skype to get a picture of one another.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With us you can defenetely have an insight how colorful, chaotic, multifaceted, even experiencing, self-detecting, unsparingly honest and enbrightening, enriching life can be with children *️️️️️️️️lol*️️️️️️️️
    I think I can always learn from every person and situation in life...so let's see what will bring our gathering for everyone ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    Refresh our English skills
    Some basic help in the household and with the kids. Maybe in the garden in spring if prefered.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own furnitured room
    with an oven to make fire to get the room warm and cosy

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 293585765322