Join our family and live on the top of Monchique, Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/06/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers!
    We're Manuel and Aylin, who bought an old portuguese house on the southside of beautiful Foía Mountain in Monchique with an amazing view to the south coast. I (Manuel) am an architecture student and Aylin is a tailor and we both are parents of 2 beautiful kids (1 and 3 years) . We have some chicken, three dogs, plan on having sheep and have a plot about 2 hectares. The house is to be renovated right now, so that's definitely one of the main things we need to do, but there's other stuff we will need help with for sure. We speak english, portuguese, german (mother tongue) and dutch. And probably enough french to order a coffee and a croissant in a café :)

    Couples, Families, Friends are very welcome if you are not travelling alone!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What you could learn from us is a different kind of life than you might be used to. We are not completely secluded, nor are we hermits; we learned portuguese in the first years of being here and are very much connected with the community of Monchique. So in terms of cultural, social and educational contacts, we can arrange a variety of things to spend your time! If you would like to learn more about building, gardening and expat life in Portugal, I'm sure here's the right place. And I am also sure that the beneficial learning process is bilateral and that we can learn from and with you also.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our old stone house needs a complete renovation. I already did the roof, am working on the floor now, will need plumbing and electricity works, windows and new doors and and and... There's an apparently endless list of things that need to be done on there. But don't be scared if you're not a professional, just giving a hand, reaching out the tools, carrying buckets, driving wheelbarrows and especially learning will be a big help already!

    We also have a small patch of vegetable garden and a lot of fruit trees that need maintenance as well, like pruning, digging, weeding etc. Our focus is not so much on the gardening factor but this is something where a helping hand would be welcome as well.

    Our daughters are 1 and 3 years old now and really lovely and open with other people :) Still, sometimes, when we want to do something on the house or the land they can be withholding us of our work, so if you'd rather babysit them for some time, while we get things done, that would be very appreciated as well.

    We have some other plans for the land as well, like having more animals, but that can be discussed during the process here!

    Anyway, any help is very welcome!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Any language, or just the basic skills are appreciated :)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment we have one part of the house temporarily habitable, with a temporary roof, a small kitchen and some beds, while we live in a yurt. We still have to put an oven in the house for the colder nights, but in the good weather it's definitely livable and also something we can work on together. (In the summer we have a belltent and enough place to put up more tents). But nonetheless it's also great to have your bed on 4 wheels, like a campervan or caravan or that sort of thing.

    Anyways, when we get in contact together, we can send some pictures of the accommodation, if you prefer.

    We'll provide food and the kitchen is yours to use and definitely would prefer to work and eat together. Anything that you would need to feel comfortable can be discussed! We definitely don't want to exploit someone or feed someone on bread and potatoes only. We're not vegetarian, but rarely cook with meat (except some occasions when we put on the BBQ). We sometimes go out to eat, but that's occasionaly only as well. Since I'm studying at night, lunch might be the best option to eat together, which does not exclude the option of diner of course ;)

    We have electricity, spring water, internet, fridge, freezer, washing machine and a computer for general use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you know Portugal a little bit, you probably heard about Monchique, that little rebels nest in the countryside where Asterix and Obelix would have lived if there were portuguese. The home of the Medronho and a very lovely, multicultural community. We live very much on the top of the mountain, 10 min drive down to the town where there's shopping possibilities and are regularly going down to Portimão or other places on the south coast. We have a car and a motor bike and are happy to share everything we have if it's not needed by us.

    Anything that pops into your head that you want to ask, feel free to write a message and ask! Communication is the key to a good cooperation!

    We look forward to hear from you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This is a yes and a no - I do have online course university right now during the pandemic, and things like zoom, microsoft teams etc, work very well for me. But, if you need a glass fibre connection, you'd definitely have to look somewhere else :D

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have chicken and three dogs (Daughter, mother and grandfather) that generally are okay with other dogs. Please careful with chicken eaters :P

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 277565895342