Outdoor fun!! Helping at our bike park and Bike School in Tumbaco Valley, near Quito, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1262

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone!!

    Located on the down part of Ilalo mountain, our house is surrounded by nature, fruit trees, and a farm kind of feeling, our school was created about 4 years ago by 2 friends Juan and Jose we live here at this place, with 3 other dog and 12 chickens, our place is a community place there is always someone visiting, really cool to interact with locals and find stuff to do around.

    We started this after school program and during summer also summer camp wanting to share our knowledge to the next generations! We teach kids as young as 2 years old and beyond, all the teachers are also friends from way back so you will feel really good in this group!! We work as a community in every way always helping each other and sharing tasks! Since we have traveled and guided all over the countries we have all the connections for you to keep enjoying travel in our countrie!! We want you to be a part of our team!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn first hand with us how to teach kids whatever you want with our techniques, you will also learn how to build and maintain dirt jumps, and you will have a good learning experience about our culture, countrie and how young people live were we live, all the people you are going to meet are very nice and always happy to share their stories, also we can help you with tips and connections for the rest of your travel, we travel to different parts of the countrie to race or just to go in adventures and if you are there when we do so you can come with us!!

  • Help

    Help

    There is no experience needed here we are always willing to teach you what you need, what we need is someone that can help us being a host during classes and helping with our summer camps with the kids!!

    We need help also help watering our fruit trees and some help around the house.

    The only requierment is that you are not afraid to help outside, that you like working with kids and be able to learn!!

    Weekly tasks 1 a week:
    Sweep floors inside the house and the porch area
    Clean Inside bathroom

    Daily Tasks:
    This tasks are done before classes:
    We work from : Monday trough Thursday ,and Friday, Saturday, Sunday are days off
    Clean outside chairs were parents sit
    Make coffee
    Pick up dog plates
    Quick clean kids bathroom
    Water the track
    Water the plants and flowers
    Pick up forgotten bikes
    Cover outside bikes
    Make sure bike parking is organized
    Pick up dog poop from the tracks

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a shared room with another volunteer probably not 100%sure.

    We have 1 shared bathroom and you can also use another bathroom inside one of the roomates room, we also have another bathroom outside for the kids you can use.

    We will provide pillows, sheets, towels and blanckets for you as well.

    We will provide breakfast cooked at home, lunch mostly cooked at home but sometimes we eat at our neighbors small restaurant we will pay for that, and dinner cooked at home.

    If by some reason we are not home ,there is always goig to be food and drinks at home that you can have, and if there is something you need just go across the street to the minimarket we have an open account there so you can buy whatever you want.

    *️️️️️Any other expense like party, beers or eating out its on you.

    Our house has a pool table inside, a big living room with our own movie screen were we can watch any movie !!

    We have a bike parking inside the house with a lot of bikes so you can pick one and join us in any trip or just to have fun at our track. Choose a bike and ride it!


    We have 3 dogs and 1 cat that are really nice with people, and they have to be since they are in contact with kids every day, you will love them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is located under Ilalo Mountain in Tumbaco valley just 10min from Downtown Tumbaco ,15min from Downtown Cumbaya and 30min from Quito Ecuadors Capital, we have a bus stop 2 blocks away from the house and a taxi stop just half a block away, our you can ride a bike wich is faster,you could also talk to one of the roomates, teachers or friends to take you were ever you need to go, we all are freelance workers so we have time.

    If you love outdoors this is the perfect place for you we all are adventure people, and there is a lot of hiking and biking trails around us, also you can just walk out walk up the mountain and camp, there is climbing rocks and walls near by as well.

    If you miss going to the mall, movies, breweries, restaurants, yoga studios, everything is just 10min away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week most of the times even less than that.



Host ref number: 255111631183