Help on an organic farm and learn about techniques and practices in Cerveteri, Near Rome, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a Paola, Luigi and Edoardo, a family that runs an organic farm located in a little town called Cerveteri, 40 km north of Rome. The farm is located on a hill, with a panoramic view of the sea (which is about 6 km from the farm) and of the beautiful roman countryside. The whole area is of prominent archeological relevance, as Cerveteri is home to one of the biggest and best preserved Etruskan sites in Italy. It is furthermore very well connected to Rome (going to Rome by train takes about 40 minutes).

    We have an orchard with different types of fruit trees (apples, bitter oranges, figs and others), some animals (chicken, pigs, rabbits and so on) and a few apartments we rent to tourists.

    We also work as a learning farm, teaching school children about organic farming and enviromental care and carrying out practical workshops related to agicultural themes with them (how to make cheese, jams, bread...) and a nursery for children aged 4 - 7.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The province of Rome has a strong cultural and natural heritage: travellers could visit both the sourrounding natural parks and the charming little towns that surround our farm. They could furthermore learn something about organic farming techniques and practices.

  • Help

    Help

    We are searching for someone that can help us with some basic farming works (pruning, weeding, cleaning of the soil, harvesting ecc.) as well as some general maintenance and a little help in the house.

    The help would take up to 5 hours and day.

    Most of the activities we need help with have a strong manual component: interested workawayers should have a predisposition for manual work and enjoy being outdoors.

    Starting from March we will have classes of children visiting the farm for a day,learning about organic farming and carrying out some practical workshops. The guest will take part in some of the activities and help us plan and execute those workshops.

    Alternatively we are looking for someone who is a) an english native speaker and knows a little bit of Italian and b) enjoys working with small children, as we would like to offer some basic and playfull english lessons to the children that are hosted in our nursery.

    The help would take a couple of hours per day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, German and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests would be accomodated in an apartment which is located in an independent house and equiped with its own kitchen, bathroom and washing machine.

    The house is in the middle of the fields, far from any kind of public transportation: guests should have their own car/motorcycle to travel independently.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would prefer to have a couple of guests, rather than an individual traveller.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 233959449957