Help out around our small family farm outside of Rome, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife and I live in the outskirts of a town 40 km from Rome. We own a small family farm with some chickens and rabbits that we breed for our own food; we also have a small vegetable and fruit garden where we produce most of the food we eat. . We live about 2 km from the railway station and 1.5 km from th e bus station and from both places there's good transportation to Rome.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak fluent English and French, a little Spanish and I'm Learning Hungarian; my wife speaks a little English and French. We like showing our guests whatever we can about Italian culture and lifestyle and like Learning about other people's culture as well.

  • Help

    Help

    We mostly need help in the farm, in the garden and in the house. As for the farm, it depends on the period you're coming: usual things are feeding dogs, chickens and rabbits, collecting wood for the fire and prooning in winter or mowing grass in spring and summer. In late spring you might help us to plant the summer vegetable garden and it would be the same in late summer, when we prepare for the winter garden. We also harvest the things we need for the kitchen, so it might occur to do so. In the house we ask help for ordinary chores like hoovering, cleaning the floor etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian (mother tongue), English, French and a little Spanish. (learning Hungarian)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can host max two people in the same bedroom. Guests will have a private bedroom and bathroom and shall share all the rest with us: meals and all other activities in the home. We don't have any food restriction, so we live on a variety of food which mostly comes from our farm or neighbours' ones.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are quite flexible as for the working hours. Since our place is in the "Castelli Romani" (an area full of history and art close to Rome), guests can decide to work a full day and to be off the following day so as to visit the area or go to Rome. Since we don't drive, guests have to arrange transport with buses and trains. We only collect guests on arrival day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 196936454195