Reigh

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Großbritannien, Neuseeland

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    19.01.2021 - 19.01.2022

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    I'm always open to learning all sorts of new things but would like to use Workaway primarily for learning more about working with and caring for animals. I do have some experience with a variety of animals, but I know each animal is different and everyone has a different style of caring for them. I very much would like to learn from you about how you do things!

    My other main interests include learning about what it takes to run a retreat center, environmentally-friendly living, permaculture, and holistic therapeutic practices.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    -- Animals --
    I grew up with cats, dogs, rats, mice, and fish so I know the basics of living with and caring for these animals. I also gained experiences with horses through a year of riding lessons (English) and multiple years of vaulting (gymnastics on horseback). However, it has been quite some time since either of those activities.

    Additional past experiences include: volunteering at a bird rescue center but only for a couple days; monitoring birds, snakes, and insects at a prairie restoration center; caring for lab rats and mice; dog- and cat-sitting for friends or other acquaintances; day excursion with llamas and alpacas; and a brief experience with a wombat.

    Since I started using Workaway, I spent 2 weeks on an animal rescue farm in Ireland and helped take care primarily of the horses, ponies, and pigs, but also got to help out/interact with the sheep, goat, dogs, donkey, and chickens. I also spent 1 month on a dairy farm in Italy and helped with the care of the cows, calves, goats, chickens, dog, and cats.

    -- Gardening/Building --
    I helped tend the family garden growing up but only have more recent experience with taking care of a few inedible plants. I've had experience with land management (e.g. invasive species management, preparing plots for research projects) through an internship at a prairie restoration center, and trail-making through a 2-week volunteer excursion.

    -- Cooking --
    I can follow a recipe well enough, but my main method is making a random concoction based on the ingredients available to me.

    -- Cleaning --
    I was raised with ideal of cleanliness and neatness, and those values have stuck pretty well with me. I also love organizing things.

    -- Other --
    - I'm proficient with a computer (stronger with Windows than Mac) and am generally willing to look at any issues with one to see if I can fix it.

    - I've worked with older adults (mostly low-income) for the past 7.5 years as a Resource Specialist so I've learned pretty well how to provide great customer service and search for community resources.

    - I've taken enough yoga and pilates classes that I could probably lead you through an easy/gentle session inspired by those two forms of movement, just don't expect anything fancy!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse
    Japanese: Grundkenntnisse
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Grundkenntnisse
    Yiddish: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    30

  • Was noch ...

    I am non-binary, meaning I do not identify as a man or a woman and I really appreciate it when people refer to me as my name, they, them, or theirs instead of pronouns like he or she. I am generally happy to discuss this, but will let you know if a question or comment crosses a line.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Environmental allergens such as dust and pollen, but are usually manageable with medicine

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Allergic to soy; no dairy, pork, or shellfish; my preferred sources of protein are chicken and fish but will be fine with a vegetarian/vegan diet

Feedback