Makena

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Freunde (4)

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    zu Hause

    Tätigkeiten, die mich interessieren:

    I'm currently based in Exeter and I'm looking to meet people around me.

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Italy
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    I am 18 years old and currently undertaking a gap year before beginning Medical School in the UK. I'm looking for some hands-on working experience to keep myself busy in a new and exciting environment. I am looking for opportunities to improve my language skills, spend some time outdoors and in nature and connect with fellow travelers from all over the world whether it be over a game of cards or an adrenalin-pumping adventure like cliff jumping. Living in a boarding house for the past 4 years has given me a love for connecting with people through communal meals or laid-back chats in the common room and I would love to continue this throughout my gap year.
    I am looking for an outdoor-focused workaway with opportunities to take part in local activities such as scuba diving, hiking, cycling, or kitesurfing

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Trampen
    Segeln / Boote
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wassersport
    Mannschaftssportarten
    Wintersport
    Fitness
    Radfahren
    Tanzen
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Sprachen
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Schreiben

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Karitative Arbeit
    Ökoprojekte
    Seniorenbetreuung

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I'm currently working as an online tutor, and boarding and sports assistant at a prep school so I have plenty of experience working with and teaching children. My ambition to become a doctor has lead me to take first aid-related courses and I am currently a qualified PADI rescue diver (starting my divemaster in December if all goes well), a certified lifeguard, and an emergency oxygen provider.
    I also love hiking (Kilimanjaro being my greatest achievement) cycling and kitesurfing (the latter I kinda suck at but I'm always eager to improve). I think I'm pretty easygoing and having lived in Kenya and the UK and have a pretty open mind and I'm always excited to throw myself into the next adventure.
    I am an LTA level 1 Tennis assistant and have experience coaching prep school tennis. I have been swimming competitively for the past 8 years and I have experience teaching beginners how to swim as well as basic training. I am also an online maths, chemistry, biology, history, and Italian tutor for IB students (ages 16-18) and I have safeguarding training due to my current job as a prep school boarding house assistant.
    I am an army cadet and have taken part in leadership and adventure training courses (rock climbing and coasteering)

    General Maintenance - I have volunteered on a few projects that involved renovation, one in Kenya renovating an old horse trailer into a shop where the local women can sell their beaded jewelry and I am lucky enough to have a father who insists on using me and my sister as his 'little laborers' so I have some skills with general repairs.

    Cleaning and cooking - Having gone to boarding school for the past 4 years I learned quite quickly how to cook for groups (and extras for the girls that smelt food and followed the scent!). It also instilled in me a routine of keeping tidy and cleaning up after myself. Now as a gap year tutor in a prep school boarding house not only am I picking up after myself but a hoard of prep schoolers.

    Working with children - As a house prefect I have been a mentor for the younger girls in my house and as a gap year tutor I am essentially a big sister/young mummy for the girls and boys in the boarding house. I have also undergone basic safeguarding for working with children.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    I would live to improve my Italian or begin a new language to add to my ever-growing list of intermediate languages!

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    19

  • Was noch ...

    I've done some volunteer work including, working in Musgrove AnE (a hospital in the UK) where I helped people find their loved ones in the ward or with anything they may need as well as cleaning the dishes in the mess room and stripping sanitising and changing the AnE beds. Volunteering in a wild dog research center in Loita (Kenya) and as a swimming and tennis assistant.
    I have also done an internship at Kenyatta National Hospital (in Kenya) where I helped in the clinic and followed an Orthopaedic and General surgeon with the highlight of my internship being watching an open heart surgery!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback

Dieser Workawayer hat noch keine Bewertungen erhalten.