Roman

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Costa Rica, USA

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    20.10.2017 - 01.12.2017

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    *️️I have been doing Workaway projects for more than six years—please see my list of projects and references!*️️

    Me, in a nutshell. I am 36. I speak English, Russian, Spanish, and Portuguese (which is rusting, regrettably). I have a BA in English and Spanish. I love to read, listen to/play music, learn and teach, live abroad, relax, meditate, do yoga, cycle, rock-climb, spend time with family and friends, hike-jump-play-ride-swim, laugh and make laugh, and share. I love animals and people but am allergic to cats.

    I have had the good fortune (and Gypsy spirit) to live and work all over the world (Russia, Ukraine, U.S., Canada, Italy, Brazil, Thailand, Portugal, Colombia, Mexico...) but these days find me back in the States, seeking (as always!) and filled with a desire to explore more Workaway projects.

    While languages are my passion (and often bread and butter), I am also good with my hands and not averse to putting in a day of good old brow-wetting, callus-making, whew-I-did-it labor. From teaching kids to chopping wood and scything a field overgrown with blackberry, I will take on any project with alacrity and determination. I am outgoing and creative, diligent and dependable. At the risk of [more] immodesty and I-ams, I am open to learning and pretty quick at it.

    As a person, I am attention-detailed, clean, orderly, and organized. Always respectful, I endeavor to be the model guest and helper.

    Workaway experience:
    I started on this network a few years ago with my then-partner, Michelle, and we had a wonderful time of it. I came back to it solo in 2014, and am looking forward to more projects, a little older, a lot wiser, but no less excited. Below is a brief outline of the projects I was involved with.

    Semboues, France: Helped an older couple on their 18th-century farmhouse/estate. Chopping wood, scything, weeding, walking their lovely dogs.

    Montefalcione, Italy: Working on a grapevine, pruning; helping out at the hosts' organic restaurant.

    Bosa (Sardegna), Italy: Taking care of six donkeys and eight chickens; working on an olive grove, maintaining the trees; some landscaping and beautification.

    Puglia, Italy: Helping an English potter/sculptor on her estate. Painted, cleaned, chainsawed/chopped, light cement work; helped maintain about a trillion cacti of all shapes and sizes.

    Bliss, Idaho: Helped out with llamas, goats, and chickens. Limbed/chopped trees, chainsawed (lots). Computer/technology help. Lots of weeding and landscaping, ran a riding mower. Ran general errands around the county in owner's pick-up. Picked apples and nectarines. Moved furniture.

    Seattle, Washington: Mostly helped with babysitting three lovely, joyful, energetic boys. Duties included: driving them to soccer practice, preparing meals and feeding the kids, taking them to the park and playing, reading to them and teaching them a little bit of Spanish. Light help around the house.

    Rensselaer, NY: Mostly helped with taking care of 8 goats, 22 ducks, and one calf named Saucy. Also cooked/helped in the kitchen and cleaned up. Light carpentry work. Planting garlic, harvesting habaneros.

    Geneva, NY: Meticulously replaced dozens of window panes in an antique barn, weeding/gardening, helped set up/break down/clean up after two weddings, washed an English Mastiff, scraped/sanded a ceiling, painted.

    Kadampa Meditation Center, NY: Landscaped/weedwhacked acres of woodland trails, sanded for carpentry projects, cleaning/tidying around the temple, repaired a riding mower, replaced light fixtures, painted, weeded, tilled and raked/leveled septic overflow fields, cleaned all the clogged gutters on the temple and main house.

    If there is anything else I can provide for your consideration, or if you would like to Skype or speak on the phone, please do not hesitate to reach out.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Altenpflege
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Landscaping, Pruning/Climbing trees, Chainsawing, Yardwork, Mowing, Chopping wood, Painting, Light construction, Teaching, Music, Good with children, Good with animals, Operating Motor Vehicles, Mechanical Ability, Language, Writing, Yoga, Music, Communication, Interpersonal, Computer, Organizing/Cleaning, Delegating/Directing, Storytelling ...

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Russian, Spanish, rusty Portuguese

  • Alter

    38

  • Nationalität

    U.S.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Cats

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Fotos

Lunch-time in Sardegna, 2012.
Hanging with quadruped friends in Idaho. 2014.
Painting maple leafs, Canada Day, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Summer, 2016.
Working for Apple... 2015.
Campaigning for Bernie. Summer, 2015.
Managing a falafel shop in NYC. Summer, 2016.
Working on a small farm in Oaxaca, Mexico, as part of a holistic community. Summer, 2017.
Acro yoga while living/working at a holistic community, Oaxaca, Mexico, Summer 2017.
Orbital sanding, Kadampa Buddhist Meditation Center, New York. Fall 2017.
Repairing windows in antique barn, Geneva, NY. Summer 2017.
Feeling triumphant after a bike ride in NYC. Summer 2017.
Jungle yoga flow, Costa Rica, 2017
Jungle meditation class, Costa Rica, 2017

Feedback