Maddy

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    zu Hause

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Thailand - von Sep 2022 bis Jul 2023
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Hi! My name is Maddy, a 21 year old U.K. student :) I am fully vaccinated and boosted against COVID-19 and looking to volunteer anywhere in the world, particularly for NGO/charity work as I passionately wish to help people.
    I am also more than open to teaching, sustainability, community/family work, hostel work, childcare or absolutely anything really! I am always looking for new experiences and opportunities to help and learn.

    Currently studying Human Geography and International Development, I am passionate about people and reducing the inequalities they face, the environment, and conservation. I embarked on 5 months of solo travel around southeast Asia at 18 after finishing high school (and a few months of working to acquire the savings to fund this!) and fell in love with travel and volunteering. I began my Workaway journey in summer of 2020, working on an eco-farm in Southern Italy, then followed it a year later with an NGO giving critical aid to Venezuelan refugees in Colombia. For me, Workaway is such an amazing, authentic and more affordable way to make a difference, meet like-minded people and to give back. I fell completely in love with the concept of this website and am dying to make more connections and experiences from it!

    Despite my age, I believe myself to be a very capable, open-minded, considerate and mature individual, eager to learn new skills and gain new experiences, whilst connecting meaningfully with people from all over the world. I have so many interests and a passion for life :) Cities are often fun and vibrant places to explore, though I feel most at peace and accepted in nature - I love beaches, jungle, mountains, waterfalls, forest, trekking, I'm there!

  • Interessengebiete

    Strand
    Natur
    Mannschaftssportarten
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Tanzen
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Darstellende Künste
    Schreiben
    Bücher
    Musik
    Videoaufnahmen

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I have a month of coastal conservation volunteering experience in Thailand, which involved: collecting data for organisations to map blind spots of coral bleaching; environmental education within the local community; sea turtle animal care and conservation (cleaning tanks/helping with their general upkeep in the sanctuary, monitoring their health/growth and treating infections); terrestrial data collection of bird and butterfly species in areas of development/pollution; and through camera trapping to prove the presence of the endangered pangolin in areas of potential development.

    Summer of 2020, I gained my first farm/gardening work experience for a few weeks in southern Italy (via WorkAway), though this is an area I would love to learn more about. More recently, I was with an NGO in Colombia I found through workaway, working to give critical aid to Venezuelan refugees entering the country.
    At the age of 16, I also embarked on a week of community/education-based volunteering in Morocco.

    Additionally, my degree focuses a lot of discussion around sustainable development and poverty reduction within the Earth's environmental limits, which has diversified and informed my perspective and ideas a great deal. I believe I am a competent writer and communicator.

    I am enrolled in an online TEFL course which I hope to complete soon, so that I can gain the skills to teach English abroad effectively.

    In terms of creative and physical skills, I am willing to give absolutely anything a go, whether it be gardening, building, etc - I love outdoor activity I am definitely not afraid to get my hands dirty! I have a huge love for dance, fitness, food and music.

    I have gained a lot of customer service and people skills through working in a supermarket and still regularly do hospitality/plate waiting work here and there whilst studying.

    I also have a lot of babysitting/child care experience, tutored students at my school in geography and have helped out at after-school clubs.

    Lastly, a few months ago I saved together some money to buy a higher quality camera as I love photographing people and places, and am always seeking to hone this skill.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    21

  • Was noch ...

    I have proof of full course of covid vaccinations if needed!
    I adore animals and have grown up with cats and dogs.
    I definitely consider myself an empath and actively thrive when I feel I am being helpful for others. I am a social person and enjoy speaking to new and different people I would not normally cross paths with, and hearing their stories and insights.
    I absolutely love dance and physical movement! I also try to practice meditation as often as I can to keep myself grounded and to manage stress.
    I am vegan for environmental and ethical reasons, which means I avoid consuming animal-derived products (meat, fish, eggs, dairy), but I am well aware that this is not a cultural norm for many people, can cook for myself so as not to inconvenience anyone and wont be offended seeing others eating or cooking meat for example!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      no

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      vegan

Feedback


Freunde

Fotos

Feedback