• Neuseeland
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Good Workawayer


  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Austria - von Jan 2024 bis Jun 2024
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    I am inspired by wild nature and living in harmony with the Earth. I love to experience flora and fauna that is different to my home country of New Zealand, and learning more about plants. Self sufficiency is important to me, and I am very interested in natural building and learning about permaculture, these are some of the reasons I am on Workaway to hopefully contribute to projects and learn more along the way. I love being in wild places, and feel quite suffocated if I am in a city for too long. I am a longtime hiker, and one of the great personal adventure/challenges I have undertaken was to spend 1 month alone in the forest during the NZ winter. I adore the ocean, and am happiest camping and exploring the wilds. I am also a huge foodie and love to cook.

    Experiencing genuine connection with the humans around me is important. When I am travelling I prefer to couchsurf and Workaway as it is an awesome way to meet local people, have many varied experiences, get my hands dirty working alongside people on their projects, and tend lots of different types of land. Which means a whole lot of learning! I feel very happy with my hands in soil, and enjoy all aspects of gardening and working on the land.

    My most recent personal project was in NZ last year (2022) I levelled A LOT of clay by hand (due to the site position), reclaimed land, and built a platform from found pallets for a 6m Bell Tent, which I lived in during NZ Autumn, Winter and Spring. It was a real return to the roots with a woodburner for hot water, no electricity for the first few months, showering in a bucket and using a bucket toilet system which was then composted following the Humanure principles. I really love getting back to basics, it makes me feel alive and grounded. So I am very comfortable in basic living conditions, and working hard just to get the essentials (shelter, warmth, water, food, sanitation etc). and for sure enjoy the delights of the city in culture, music and exploring the food scene.

    From another life I have a degree in Industrial Design (Product). I like making things in a workshop setting, and coming up with creative design solutions. I have a good eye for detail and a deep appreciation for well made things. I am comfortable around power tools, and a quick learner with anything that may be unfamiliar to me. I have built my own Sensory Deprivation Float Tank, and am passionate about the wellness and therapeutic potential with floating - google it and try it at your local float center ;)

    I have a reasonable amount of experience with interior and exterior painting, notably
    stripping, repairing and repainting the exterior of an entire 4 bedroom 100 year old villa in Brisbane (2020), alongside a large deck, three bay shed and various interior projects. I understand the requirement for a solid foundation in prep work of a job to ensure the finish is both beautiful, and has structural integrity.

    I have also worked an an au-pair and English teacher. I have a lot of work experience in hospitality both front and back of house, most recently as a Pizza Chef (2022), running a small boutique cafe/bistro kitchen during night service, and FOH/barista during the day.

    I am a hard worker, and am not afraid of dirty work. I am a clean and tidy person, and appreciate taking care of a space to keep good energy flow and therefore good atmosphere.

    I have done a few Workaways over the years, however lost access to those profiles so unfortunately don't have any references for them.
    2013 - Malta - Organic Farm Community - 2 weeks
    2015 - Nepal - Organic Tea Farm - 4 weeks
    2015 - Canada - Various - Various lengths from a few days to few weeks

    Here is a link to my couchsurfing profile which has a number of references - so you can get a small feel for what sort of character I am:

  • Interessengebiete

    Segeln / Boote
    Darstellende Künste
    Heimwerken & DIY

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Betreuung von Tieren

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Karitative Arbeit

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    - Tending a garden - landscaping - farm work
    - Designing and building small scale projects
    - House painting - exterior and interior
    - Basic repairs and DIY
    - A strong eye for detail

    - Interior Design - atmosphere
    - Hospitality - Hosting - Customer Service - Cooking
    - Teaching English for conversation
    - Basic digital design work (Adobe Creative Suite)
    - A love for life

  • Alter


  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung