• Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (3)

Top Workawayer


  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    zu Hause

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    United Kingdom
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Hello, I'm Laura from the UK. I've been taking part in Workaway projects for almost 10 years now, and hope to do so for many more to come! Without doubt some of the best and most enriching experiences of my life have been found through workaway - I've met so many inspiring and beautiful people through the projects I've taken part in, and I am so excited to have the opportunity to explore a new country in this way again next year.

    I will be travelling with my oldest and greatest adventure buddy, my big sister Nikki. It is my first time in NZ; Nikki has been working on the South Island for the past six months and we are now going to explore the North together.

    A decent chunk of the past 10 years I've spent studying Architecture - I now have a Masters Degree in that, and loved the course and the creativity and problem solving it involved. However I've never been a big fan of working in an office or spending my time staring at a screen, so now work part time for a climate change charity, part time in the UK's most amazing vegetarian restaurant, and spend the rest of my time doing freelance work - making things, working with renewables, bits and pieces of architecture work. Most of all I'm a big fan of getting dirt under my fingernails and sawdust in my hair! And generally working with amazing people and making nice things with my own two hands.

    Climate activism is undeniably a big part of my life these days... I'm involved with extinction rebellion, but also see the need to build a regenerative culture and find ways of living based on something more fundamental and sustainable than mass consumerism! I've experienced a lot of different forms of community over my years of volunteering, and to me they seem to hold the potential for a better future. I'm particularly interested in how we can redress our place within the wider ecosystem, through the ways in which we build and grow and interact with the beings, both human and non-human, with whom we share this beautiful planet!

  • Interessengebiete

    Kunst & Design
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Kochen & Backen
    Vegetarier / Veganer
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Karitative Arbeit
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Aside from the traditional architecture skills of designing buildings and producing pretty drawings, I've worked on a number of eco-construction projects over the years and especially love working with wood. I also have some experience slating roofs; building stone walls; earth building with cob, mud bricks, rammed earth and wattle and daub; lime plastering and limewashing; even tried thatching! Willing to give anything a go really.

    Recently I've been involved in the renewables industry so have some practical knowledge of designing and installing PV systems, as well as knowing bits and pieces about other low carbon technologies. I've tried my hand at electrical work too, though I'm no expert. Back in the UK I live on a narrow boat, on which I do as much of the maintenance as I can including servicing the engine, paintwork, electrics, and bits of interior fit out - it's an old boat so always in need of attention!

    And I have plenty of basic experience with organic and permaculture gardening, painting and decorating, and love cooking for big groups. I have previously volunteered on farms, quite a few building and restoration projects, and in a couple of guest houses. I'm a practical person and love learning anything that you have time to teach me - I'm never afraid of getting my hands dirty and give whatever I do my best shot.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Alter


  • Nationalität


  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung