Karen

aus: Neuseeland

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Argentinien, Bolivien, Brasilien, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Kolumbien, Mexiko, Nicaragua, Peru ... more

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    20.05.2017 - 30.06.2018

  • Abzeichen

    Top Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    My name is Karen.
    Before commencing my travels, I was owner/ director of a landscape design company in Auckland, New Zealand for 20 years. During this time I was responsible for developing garden designs from scratch -i.e liaison with clients, site surveys/concept and planting plans and overseeing the implementation of projects including plant sourcing and placement. I have a particular interest in permaculture and in developing gardens with native plants and high biodiversity.
    I have a Bachelor of Horticultural Science degree.
    I am a 'can do' person, hard working, friendly, easy going and happy to help as required. eg
    -gardening work - weeding, potting up, sowing seed, taking cuttings, planting, pruning etc -not heavy work.
    - landscape designer, can competently measure up a site and take levels etc if required. Draw concept landscape designs (although am not travelling with any survey equipment).
    -good cook and also happy to help out in the house with cleaning etc.
    -good computer skills
    -can help with teaching English if required although not a qualified English teacher.
    -competent swimmer and cyclist and enjoy hiking.
    NB I am learning Spanish and can have basic conversations.
    Workaway projects so far...
    Volunteering at a hostel in La Paloma, Uruguay for 3 weeks. June 2017
    Volunteering at a hostel in Baños, Ecuador for a month -July 2017
    Volunteering on a finca in the Zamora province of Ecuador for 1 month -August 2017
    Volunteering on a finca near Canoa, Ecuador for a week only ( my 90 days in Ecuador was coming to an end)
    Volunteering in a hostel in Cusco Peru for a month from October 1st.
    Volunteering on a fazenda near Sao Paulo, Brazil for 3 weeks. November 2017
    Volunteering in Quime, Bolivia for a month -not a Workaway project but I drew up a garden design and also cleared weeds and planted gardens. December 2017 and January 2018
    Volunteeering on a permaculture farm -San Marcos Sierra- March 2018
    Volunteering in the kitchen at a turtle conservation project in Costa Rica (La Tortuga Feliz) April 2018

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Horticultural and landscape design qualifications and experience.
    Native English speaker -if tutoring is required. Please see profile above.
    Hospitality experience from Workaway volunteering.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    62

  • Nationalität

    New Zealander

  • Was noch ...

    Between February and the beginning of May 2017, I was part of a Homestay programme in Argentina, where I taught English for 15 hours/week.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Not to my knowledge

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No.

Fotos

Feedback