Freya

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Großbritannien, Kroatien, Slowenien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    26.11.2017 - 31.08.2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    221

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Mein Status

    zu Hause

  • Profil ist verbunden mit:

  • Beschreibung

    Hello! I am Freya (23), and I have been volunteering in Europe for two years.

    I have worked with 17 different workaway hosts, all with a view to grow as a rounded, versatile, and experienced individual, as well as to live in - not just observe - new cultures and communities. I will throw myself wholeheartedly into all projects! I believe I have learnt how to make a great volunteer, which means being adaptable to the lives of different hosts - I’m easy going and hard working.

    I am stronger than my frame lets on and am physically fit for manual labour. I like to work hard, and am a focused worker - the rewards of a job well done are unparalleled.

    My previous workaway experiences include:
    - construction work (commercial and natural building projects, incl. plastering and bricklaying, simple electrics)
    - agriculture
    - permaculture gardening
    - land clearing
    - farm work with animals (sheep, goats, horses, cows, poultry, snails)
    - language teaching
    - art projects
    - hospitality and cleaning work in guest houses
    - catering
    - bar, shop and cafe work

    My experiences and skill set are expanding every week, and I will take any opportunity to refine them, and of course learn many more.

    I try to practise daily meditation. Knowing how to use the breath, and allowing the mind to let go has changed the way I interact with the world, it helps me build a clearer perspective. The stillness and silence of meditation allows the space to go deeper into yourself. Having said this, I still struggle to meditate consistently. I work hard to improve myself, and will always have something I am working on; and workaway allows me to do this so effectively.

    I am scared for the Earth, and want to build a sustainable lifestyle for myself and others. I prefer to be in natural surroundings, and thoroughly enjoy working with plants, as it is when I feel most connected to the earth. When in the UK, I often volunteer for the organisation Olio, by collecting, sorting, and redistributing food that would otherwise be thrown away. Food waste is one of my biggest hates!

    In England I also work as a nursery practitioner for children aged 0-5.
    The thing I love about kids is their boundless wonder and excitement, and they have re-taught me to fully appreciate the delights of any activity and interaction, whatever they may be. This is something I look forward to bringing with me in my future placements. Having children around is always a delight, however I am not looking for any childcare roles at the moment.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I train in taekwondo, and keep my practise up whilst travelling. I am currently working towards my red belt.

    I have a full, clean UK drivers license, and experience driving left-wheeled vehicles in countries driving on the right side of the road!

    I have previously volunteered on building projects, where I have experience in:
    - fence repairs,
    - panelling with plasterboards and wooden boards (I can use drills, hand saws, circular table saws etc)
    - bricklaying and cement mixing
    - plastering and sanding,
    - lime rendering and washing,
    - rammed earth building
    - simple electrics
    Farm work:
    - I have worked with sheep, goats, horses, poultry and snails. And cows, but I’m admitedly still a little cautious around them.
    - preparing and maintaining vegetable beds
    - working with seeds and seedlings
    - felling trees
    - chainsawing and chopping firewood

    I have cleaned up innumerable and unimaginable messes as a nursery worker - I’m not squeamish!

    I am first aid trained (Paediatric Level 3), and am also a qualified athletics coaching assistant.

    I also have a bachelors degree in Classics! Whilst it’s not so relevant to this profile, I have accumulated a great deal of student debt to be able to say it, so I must include it!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    25

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegetarian

Fotos

Feedback