Gary & Heidi

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Paar / zwei Freunde

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Portugal, Spanien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    16.08.2017 - 01.01.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Super Workawayer

  • Unser Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    We are a Scottish/American couple and avid world travellers. We met living in Australia, got married in New Zealand, lived in the UK for a few years, then moved to Myanmar for a year, followed by Thailand, Bali, and other travels around Southeast Asia for another year. We are both passionate about traveling because we love exploring new environments (particularly those in the great outdoors). We also love absorbing ourselves in and appreciating new cultural experiences and meeting new people.

    We are professional house & dog sitters and have had housesitting placements in Myanmar, Bali, Cornwall, and Portugal. Most recently we made the move to Portugal February 2020 to do a 5 month house sit followed by a second month-long housesit. After that we had the opportunity to move to La Palma, Canary Islands to look after a property, but are now looking for WorkAway experiences.

    Gary is an avid skateboarder and music buff. He has over 20 years of building experience. While his experience is in many areas of building works, most of his experience is in all manner of traditional pitch & slate roofing. He is also qualified in scaffolding and semi-skilled in plumbing. In addition in 2014, Gary decided to change gears and after, receiving his TEFL in English as a second language, he has been wildly popular "Teacher Gary" with children and adults a like. He is very personable and friendly which adds to his success in teaching.

    Heidi grew up in Wisconsin, USA. She has a BA in German Language and Culture, as well as a doctorate (DC) in natural medicine, chiropractic, and Applied Kinesiology. Heidi is a certified Zen Yoga instructor and CFS Recovery Specialist. Heidi likes writing, photography, cooking and languages for hobbies. She is also fascinated with all aspects of natural healing and ancient healing wisdoms. Since the age of 17, Heidi has lived, studied, and worked in many countries such as Germany, Ireland, Australia, NZ, UK, Myanmar, Thailand, Bali, and Portugal.

    As good as traveling as tourists can be, we also feel our travels spent with a purpose of volunteering and learning new skills offers such rewarding experiences and we love the people we meet. We both share a common goal of wanting to give back through volunteering and have a dream of renovating a property to host travellers and create a small business. We have special interest in a self-sustaining lifestyle & possibly creating a healing retreat centre/ skatepark resort.

    Besides Workaway, during our year in New Zealand (2010-2011), we spent much of the year WOOFing on organic farms. This was one of the most rewarding experiences. We learned about organic bee keeping, naturopathic and herbal medicines, as well as getting into the nitty gritty of building projects, digging drainage ditches, premises repairs, etc.

    We will be looking for opportunities to help out in different situations and have a particular keen interest in learning new skills, especially in aspects of cob/natural building, organic farming, biodynamics, bee keeping, vineyard care, tea/coffee, herbals, cocoa growing, barnyard animals. Sky's the limit really, so please get in touch. We look forward to meeting new friends and having awesome experiences!! Cheers!

  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

    Interessiert uns:  

    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Kunstprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeit

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    building work, slate roofing, Natural therapies, housesitting, pool maintenance, dog-sitting, teaching English, teaching yoga, skate boarding, some natural building/clay wall building experience, interest in, self-sufficient properties, running guesthouses.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse
    Portuguese: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    42 & 41

  • Nationalität

    UK & USA

  • Was noch ...

    We are a very trustworthy, reliable, friendly couple. We love meeting new people and new challenges!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Fotos

Feedback