Matteo & Diana

aus: Italien & USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Paar / zwei Freunde

  • ...



  • ...


    16.02.2019 - 16.05.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Top Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    Ciao, Hello, Ni Hao
    We are Matteo and Diana, a energetic farmers, foodies couple enjoy the life on this amazing earth.
    We both decided to leave our life back in a safe, stable, stagnant environment to discover. To see life again, to understand all different cultures, to share stories, to embrace and care for our earth and its wonders. We are always looking to find projects that we can lend our helping hands with and learn from in hopes of having one ourselves one day or find the one we can be apart of and call it our home.
    Our shared interest and curiosity brought us to meet each other at a work away on a farm in Maui and we took a huge step and decide to travel together.

    I am a friendly, sociable person with a good sense of humor. I like to meet new people, experience new culture, and travel. I pick up after myself, an independent person who does not smoke.
    I love outdoor activities and sports.
    I graduated in a culinary high school and later received a Master Science degree in Food Science.
    I worked for more than 10 years in hotels, restaurants and caterings company as a chef.
    After my studies I started teaching cooking classes for adults and children.
    In Italy I opened a temporary “farm to fork” restaurant where I grew organic vegetables that I used in my dishes.

    I left Italy in December 2016 for a three months travel in USA and I never stopped. I spent six month in Florida between organic farm and eco village where I use my skills in farming building and cooking. After I move back in Montenegro were I work trade in a camp farm where I learn how to milk goat and make cheese. After a small trip in Italy with some friends from Florida I flew to Australia where I spent six month close to Bayron Bay in an amazing community where I was taking care of the garden and the custruction. In Hawaii after work for four month in a farm in Maui where I mostly cook for the crew and enjoy the farm life I start a new adventure with Diana to discover Ourselves individually, together and beauty of the world.
    I love to explore a new culture, to share my skills with people, and to learn new skills.

    From city girl to jungle cat. I am born and raised in New York City where I spent my time there working in the pastry department confined to the kitchen. Until the day I told myself, that's enough. So I packed my things and booked my flight to Maui. I experienced my very first work away at a farm in Hana where i spent a beautiful 11 months and since then have really peaked my interest of learning more and experiencing new things.
    Being in an open and natural environmental community really transformed my lifestyle in such a way I never thought I could being back in the city. I was lucky to be immersed into a supportive, creative, challenging, spontaneous, beautiful collective of people.
    Moving from the big city to a small quiet town of hana has also shown me the simply beautiful things in life and my appreciation for all; people, animals, and Mother Earth.
    I choose work away to meet others and experience all the different cultures and help find my contribution in this world, to continue my learning of what it is to live self sufficienitly and help those with similar consciousness all around the world.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I'm a hard worker and I like to work. I'm a professional chef and I like to share my knowledge. I'm open mind and I like all type of culture and religions. I love work with wood and construction such as build furniture from recycle materials and fix old stuff. In the last three experience I was part of the costruction team with adobe and cob technique. In all the project i belive in the permaculture approach like a way to live and not just connect to garden.
    I love ride horses for compatition but mostly for fun 🙂.
    After more than two years around different workaway and mostly community i devolope skills in managment and organization of volunteers. I love also be in charge of specific project and events.

    I have a background in pastry in the restaurant industry. I like to work with my hands and keep busy. I learn quick and open to take any task or challenge at hand. I like to keep my environment light and fun but focused all at the same time.
    I highly enjoy experimenting with food in the kitchen, I love culture and cultural food.
    I enjoy getting my hands in the Mother Earth and help build better beautiful healthy soil and homes for delicious vegetables. Watching it grow is an amazing feeling for the soul.
    I also have minimal experience with building and bioconstruction from building small furniture to home assistant to stone walls to clay walls. I enjoy crafting of all kinds though I don’t know too many, I love to learn and create beautiful things.
    Since now traveling in more foreign countries have recently been inspired to share of what i know most which is English. It has been a pleasure teaching and having conversations with those that never had the opportunity or thought possible.
    Lastly, I am VERY passionate about animals, to care for them and play with them is the best pleasure.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Italian (Matteo native, Diana learning), Chinese (Diana), Portuguese (both beginner), Spanish (both learning)

  • Alter

    31 & 28

  • Nationalität

    Italy. Chinese American

  • Was noch ...

    We love bonfires and all that are associated with it; the music that is shared, the people that it brings, the meals we can create.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung