Bretta & Jean-Jacques

  • USA & Ecuador
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Unser nächstes Reiseziel:

    Spain - von Jan 2022 bis Mär 2022
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Hi all! Bretta and Jean-Jacques here :)
    We are humans who make art and love to be outside. We are both very curious and hardworking people who love adventure and are drawn to alternative and sustainable modes of living. We are invested in the concept of "slow travel" and consider our coordinates in life to be part of a greater trajectory.
    We can't wait to get to know you and help out in any way we can :)

    Here's a little bit about us :

    Bretta is a media rtist who mostly works with photographic and print mediums. She grew up in a small town in the Blue Ridge mountains of North Carolina, did her schooling in Boston, then moved to Canada when Jean-Jacques stole her heart in 2017. She's traveled to 20 different countries and finds immense joy in being on the move, experiencing the richness of life by learning about new cultures and immersing herself in them. She is passionate about radical home economics, herbalisim, permaculture, cooking, movement, art, and animals.

    Jean-Jacques is a documentary filmmaker and media artist who grew up in Guayaquil, Ecuador, where he's spent a lot of time working the land on his family's organic mango farm. He just finished a masters degree in Montreal, where he lived for 3 years. He loves to travel, meet people, understand & misunderstand places, and experience nature in it's glory.

    In 2019 we moved away from Canada to the high deserts of the South Western US. We had originally intended on moving down into Mexico, but after having a very positive workaway experience in Northern New Mexico, we fell in love with the horizon and settled down for two years. However, in February of 2021 we gave up our apartment and decided to move into a full-on nomadic lifestyle. Throughout this shift we are both taking time to reconnect to a form of roots, to heal with and for the earth, work humbly, learn new skills and share our stories and array of skills as well! In January of 2022 we moved overseas to Spain and are starting a new chapter of our lives. We are currently traveling slowly about the countryside with just a few solid plans and the packs on our backs.

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Segeln / Boote
    Yoga / Wellness
    Tanzen
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Sprachen
    Kunst & Design
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Bücher

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Kunstprojekte
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    We're both very open minded, open heart-ed, hard working, dedicated, and driven people by nature. We're quick learners and very adaptable, flexible, eager.

    Bretta has skills and experience in working with animals of all kinds, loves to work with plants (and is so so eager to learn more about gardening / farming!). She's a budding herbalist, likes working with her hands (loves a good construction project!), is learning Spanish - fluent in English, likes working with children, is a killer cook, a graphic designer + bookmaker, knows a thing or two about chemistry, has great organizational skills + is very tidy, and your go-to girl for any photographic needs!

    Jean-Jacques has experience as a farmhand on an orchard in South America where he tended to mango, cocoa, coffee, and other exotic fruit trees. He speaks fluent Spanish and English, is learning French, and has traveled vastly and met a wide variety of cultures, peoples and perspectives due to his work as a documentary filmmaker.

    We're both incredibly willing and easy going folks who enjoy living communally + sustainably. We're always happy to lend a helping hand, learn something new, and play in dirt!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    29 & 31

  • Nationalität

    U.S. American & Ecuadorian

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Jean-Jacques has a hard time being around cats if they are in his immediate area due to an allergy & Bretta can't drink beer or eat much dairy without some pretty gnarly consiquences - but that's pretty much it!

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Bretta can't have lactose and we try to keep out meat consumtion to a minimum, but all in all we're not picky eaters and consider ourselves felxitarians

Feedback


Freunde

Fotos

Feedback