Wessel

aus: Niederlande

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Deutschland, Dänemark, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Italien, Niederlande, Norwegen, Portugal, Schweden, Schweiz ... more

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.12.2020 - 31.08.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Mein Status

    zu Hause

  • Profil ist verbunden mit:

  • Beschreibung

    Growing up on a farm in the South of the Netherlands, I spent most of my time outdoors, either helping my parents or playing games and building huts with the other kids in the neighborhood. When I was 18 years old, I moved out to attend Tilburg University College (a broad bachelor program with a strong philosophical underpinning). In this international and culturally diverse environment I've have the pleasure of studying and contemplating modern life and its contemporary challenges. Then, at 24 years old I moved to Wageningen for a MSc in Environmental Sciences.

    Over the last 12 months I have become enthused about renovation and DIY projects. As such, I decided to dedicate the ongoing global COVID-19 pandemic to the renovation of my parents' old farm. While this takes up most of my time, I am excited to occasionally help out likeminded people with similar projects in order to take a break from my own projects, to build out and strengthen my skillset and to have a good time with hosts and other workawayers.

    As it currently stands, I would like to explore the full range of skills you need to renovate a house. So I would be happy to assist in anything related to it. In other words, I'm mostly interested in learning new skills and improving existing skills. Ideally, I'd be helping on projects that are just above the level of my current skillset. Please feel free to contact me with work that you'd like to do on your building and we can talk about whether I have the skills to do it.

    About me: I'm a most excited when I'm learning DIY/construction skills, but I'm also happy to help with chores and general maintenance around the house. Moreover, I'd enjoy helping with dinner (or even cooking one of my own favorites) and I will, of course, always help with the cleaning afterwards. I thoroughly enjoy long dinners and the conversations and debates that come with them, and I'd also love to explore the places I visit (ideally with the hosts sometimes). However, I do appreciate to have a couple of hours of free/alone time most of of the days.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Ökoprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Over the last twelve months I have renovated the barn on my parents' farm. We've redone the entire barn. On some parts I mostly assisted, on others I took the lead. In other words, I have mostly contributed to construction work. For instance, completely redoing the first floor (i.e. ceiling), painting, laying a brick floor, (cement plastering) and all other kinds of work. At home I'm currently restoring old cast iron windows and cutting glass for them. I also just started cleaning and repointing of the exterior walls. I am planning to start with woodworking this winter. I have already started with some carpentry, and during my first "workaway" we build a wooden deck. Please have a look at my pictures to see what I've already done.

  • Languages

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    English: Fließend
    Dutch: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse
    French: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Füge hier einen kurzen Kommentar hinzu, um andere mehr über deine Sprachinteressen wissen zu lassen

  • Alter

    25

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Cats, pollen, dust. Only cats indoors are problematic.

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Preferably vegan; I'd be happy to help if this is a challenge. Allergic to Quinoa.

Fotos

Feedback