Stuart & Alison

  • Neuseeland & Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Tätigkeiten, die uns interessieren:

    We are currently touring NZ south island in 2022 in our motorhome, looking for WorkAways, preferably gardening and landscaping projects. We also enjoy looking after animals, walking, kayaking, biking.

    Unser nächstes Reiseziel:

    New Zealand
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    We are an energetic, fun-loving New Zealand couple in our mid/late 50s who have recently decided to semi-retire, rent out our home in Wellington and enjoy NZ by travelling permanently in our new motorhome, Buster (7.5m). We are originally from the UK but have been NZ residents since 2000 and now also citizens.

    In December 2019, we left NZ for a 19 month OE in Asia, Europe and UK to visit family. While overseas we experienced various Covid lockdowns and restrictions but still managed to fulfil a long-standing dream of buying and living in a camper-van. During this time, we discovered WorkAway and enjoyed some wonderful working experiences in the UK and Spain. We returned to NZ in September 2021.

    We wish to continue being involved in WorkAway projects and enjoying our love of being outdoors. Stu is a qualified gardener and prior to horticulture he worked in the graphic design industry. Ali had a career in project management/planning and held positions in a variety of industries prior to training as a Pilates Instructor which she taught full-time for eight years. We love to apply our skills, interests and experience to help WorkAway hosts complete projects or to share ideas, learn new skills and help out along the way. In the past, for example, we have renovated old gardens, designed/landscaped new gardens, pruned trees, trimmed hedges, planned and planted a fruit-tree orchard, weeded vegetable gardens, created new lawns, mown overgrown lawns, renovated a willow hut, learned to build a dry stone wall, dug drainage ditches and hand-picked olives. When weather moves us indoors we'll turn our hand to painting and decorating. We'll have a go at anything.

    As long-term home owners and landlords, household tasks and diy jobs are not a problem. We are clean, tidy and very capable with plenty of initiative if problems arise. We are non-smokers, fully vaccinated and boosted.

    We love walking (preferably in the company of a dog), cycling (we have ebikes), kayaking (preferably a double so Ali can relax in the back), gardening, travelling, meeting people, watching movies (ideally with a cat on our lap) and generally having fun, laughing, dancing (only after a glass of wine), staying fit and trying to live our best lives to the full.

    We believe in serendipity and think that by following our hearts and noses, interesting experiences can happen. We look forward to meeting you!

  • Interessengebiete

    Strand
    Natur
    Wassersport
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Radfahren
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Gartenarbeiten
    Tiere
    Kunst & Design
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Fotografie
    Kochen & Backen
    Kultur
    Events & Sozialleben
    Gärtnern
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Gartenarbeiten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Stuart is a professional horticulturist with 6 years experience training and working as a landscape/amenity gardener and 4 years employed as Heritage Gardens Curator at the Wellington Botanic Gardens. He has extensive experience in all aspects of garden maintenance and using gardening power tools. Prior to this, he worked for 20 years in the computer graphic design industry in London and New Zealand. He finds that his creative problem-solving abilities translate well into his love of garden design. Having owned our own home, Stu is comfortable with diy jobs, painting and decorating, working with his hands, being outdoors, getting stuck in and enjoying the satisfaction of a job well done.

    Alison had a 20 year career in project management/planning and held positions in a variety of industries including IBM Europe, Wellington theatre and NZ Parliament. Alison has been a qualified Fitness Instructor teaching Pilates for 6 years, specialising in treating and preventing long term injuries. She loves to teach and enjoys making exercise fun. She also likes to help people to tap into their body awareness and find new ways of moving that feel good and pain-free. She is an excellent cook who enjoys learning about different international cuisines and after living 10 years in France, she speaks fluent French. Last year, Ali took part in a Dog Sharing Project in Wellington and made a new friend, Pancho the Miniature Schnauzer, who she walked once a week. Ali is good at organising and enjoys planning, and creating order out of chaos. She's also an excellent gardener's assistant to Stu.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    55 & 60

  • Was noch ...

    We will be travelling and living in our 7.5m motorhome so we would require access and space to park on your property. We have electric bikes to use for local travel.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback