Shawna

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Albanien, Bulgarien, Frankreich, Griechenland, Italien, Kyrgyzstan, Portugal, Spanien, USA

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.01.2018 - 31.12.2018

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    I grew up in California, on the beach, learned French in school starting at the age of 3, and lived in New York City for the 17 years, until 2018. I began traveling, with workaway, in search of bigger things - the opportunity to see new places, meet new people, experience different ways of life, and get my hands dirty. I did that and more. I met my husband in Bulgaria, and we now live in Germany where we are raising our first child in the Black Forest. We are looking to host workawayers on our own project now, but of course I hope some day soon to put my workaway boots back on, if not a little more locally, and get the little one into the scene earlier than later ;-)

    Je suis élevée en Californie, à côté de la plage; je suis allée à une école franco-américaine dès l'âge de 3 ans, et j'ai habité à New York pendant 17 ans. Et puis j'ai voulu changer de voies, de découvrir un peu le monde, rencontrer des gens, explorer de différentes modes de vie, et retrousser mes manches (à mon avis la meilleure façon d'apprendre!). Et à mon avis, j'ai réussi. J'ai rencontré mon mari en Bulgarie, et on vie maintenant ensemble en Allemagne où on élève notre enfant dans la Foret noire. On veut recevoir des Workawayers, mais j'imagine aussi retrouver la route avec le petit un jour, pour lui introduire les joies et les opportunités de Workaway.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I have been working in the service industry for the last 10 years. I am also a certified instructor in English as a Second Language (CELTA). However, I have learned something of gardening, painting, light mechanical and shop work...

    I have managed to learn pretty much anything anyone was willing to show me. While traveling I have improved my painting and finishing skills, learned how to pour concrete and work with sheet rock, and have explored lands on foot, bicycle, and motorbike, learning new language skills and enjoying cultural exchange through immersion in different ways of living. I have worked on projects in groups and on my own, and have always felt comfortable taking instruction as well as criticism.

    I am excited to work on more construction, renovation, and garden/farming. I am hoping to have the opportunity at some point to get exposed to hop-growing and beer brewing, vineyard work and harvest, bee-keeping, and cheese-making.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    37

  • Nationalität

    American

  • Was noch ...

    I love building and creating. I love seeing the fruits of labor and gleaning all the small tangential lessons that come with working towards a larger goal.

    I have been living and working in a city that never sleeps for over a decade and continue to enjoy getting to the roots of things, smelling the earth, and watching the sunrise.

    While I do smoke a cigarette or two on occasion (like when the kid is asleep or gone for the day), I always defer to my host and respect the rules of the household.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

New stairs
Landscaping in Greece
Camping at the Refuge
Colorado door
Overnight ferry to Crete
Lao sunset

Feedback