James

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    China

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    11.08.2018 - 31.03.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    zu Hause

  • Beschreibung

    UPDATE 2019 -
    I have finished my contract with the Peace Corps and I am looking to travel the world for about six months. First I will be farm work and teaching in Mongolia for a couple months, but I will have to leave before the weather starts to get too cold so I plan to head south for the winter. I am looking at Hong Kong or Japan next, then Philippines, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, and to keep heading south til I hit Australia or I run out of money. If you have something interesting going on, let me know.

    UPDATE 2018 -
    I am currently living in Lanzhou兰州 in the Gansu甘肃 province of China. I am a Peace Corps volunteer serving at a small university of Chinese Medicine in the city. It is an amazing position, since my students come from almost every part of China, from Shenzhen to Xinjiang. A lot of my students are from Tibetan and Xinjiang ethnic regions so I hear a lot about the other side of China, but most of my experience is limited to the larger cities. I really want to get away from the major population for a while and see that other side of the nation for myself.
    OLD INFORMATION 2016 - 2017 -
    I spent the last year living in Taipei, teaching English to children, mostly between the ages of 6 and 9, but I have also worked with younger classes. I loved the job, and I love teaching in general, but there is something amazing about working with children and watching them grow and learn.
    I left Taipei because I was invited to serve in the Peace Corps, starting in June. I'll be trained in Chengdu, Sichuan, but I don't know where I'll be posted until after training. I have been working toward joining for almost 10 years now, from getting my degree to getting experience in the world so I have an idea of what I'm getting into.
    I moved to Guadalajara, Mexico first. I spent most of my life in San Diego so I was familiar with the customs and language of Mexico, but it was far enough from home to be a challenge. I taught English to employees of HP Enterprises, wandered the city, made friends, and learned as much as I could.
    After that I spent 2 months doing an internship at Glide in the Tenderloin district of San Francisco before my job in Taipei began. I worked with the supportive housing project, translating and helping the residents in their day to day lives.
    Before teaching, I worked at home depot for 10 years and I was a plumber for 3 years before that. I worked on new construction and repairs, as well as learning basic carpentry. I don't mind basic electrical work, but I don't have a lot of experience so I usually defer to the professionals.
    I love kung fu, and I have practiced it for 8 years. I've studied a wide variety of styles because of travel and circumstance, so I can help with basic self defense and forms, but I am not a master. I have also learned Chinese traditional medicine and massage, and I got my license as an EMT a few years ago, but I never got beyond the basics.
    I spend a lot of time hiking and wandering, the woods and rivers are just as fascinating to me as cities and social events. I love people as much as I love being alone, and balance is very important to me. In my spare time I write, take pictures, and study.
    My personality is that of a student. I want to learn, and I find most people have something to teach. I prefer some difficulty to an easy life, I enjoy hard work, and I am not picky when it comes to food or living conditions. I want to see the world, but not as a tourist. I want to see as it is for the people who know it better than I ever will.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    3 years plumbing
    4 years teaching English
    General Maintenance
    Bachelors in Sociology
    Associates in Philosophy
    Kung Fu practitioner
    Amateur surfer
    Basic sailing
    Outrigger canoe

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse
    Chinese (Mandarin): Gute Kenntnisse

  • Alter

    41

  • Nationalität

    USA

  • Was noch ...

    I write a weekly blog, to show my family where I've been and what I've experienced. You are welcome to look and get a feel for who I am and what I am looking for. I write the way I speak, just without as many jokes. Thesongoflucius@wordpress.com

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Minor Seasonal Allergies

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

Feedback