Jessica

  • USA
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Freunde (1)

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    zu Hause

    Tätigkeiten, die mich interessieren:

    Hiya! This year, I'm on the adventure of diversifying my equine knowledge & abilities via travel. I'm excited to work hard, share my skills & absorb as much as possible! Can't wait to connect!

  • Beschreibung

    When asked for a few word to describe me; my closest friends said, “Playful & Free-Spirited, Sagacious & Honest, Likable & Disarming.” My sister said, “Compassionate, Authentic, Trustworthy, Reliable and definitely Hilarious!” While I absolutely agree with all of them, here’s a little about me in my own words.

    I am a huge nature-lover! I prefer working outside and connecting with animals. My hobbies tend to be based around working with my hands. I enjoy painting and simple jewelry making and during cold weather have been known to knit a blanket or two. I also enjoy music and singing and while I’m only a novice, I can’t say no to dancing Salsa or Bachata.

    I have found my passion in horses and the ever-growing relationships that can be built with them. I’ve spent the last 10 years as a full-time volunteer at a horse ranch that partners with rescued horses to work with kids who have experienced extreme trauma or abuse. Through this ranch I began the journey of learning herd dynamic horsemanship, developing riding skills, and have been taught how natural horse behavior can be utilized to help others experience break throughs in their lives.

    I am looking for immersion experiences where my skills and passions can not only be beneficial to others but also be built upon. I love the hard work that comes with caring for horses and maintaining a ranch. I also come to life when I have the opportunity to help others discover and succeed in their own passions.

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Segeln / Boote
    Tanzen
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Farmarbeit
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Bücher
    Film & Fernsehen
    Musik
    Kultur
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    For the past 10 years I’ve worked at a horse ranch that had anywhere from 10-12 horses at a time. After a year or so, I became the assistant ranch manager. I am experienced in maintaining horse health and nutrition based on individual needs.

    DAILY CHORES included feeding and watering per individual food plans, administering supplements, medications, and/or medical treatments when needed as well as cleaning and maintaining stalls, barns and tack. I can unload and stack bales of hay and can identify Alfalfa apart from Grass. I also know how to identify moldy hay. I know how to groom and saddle a horse as well as ensure that the saddle fits the horse properly. I also have experience in doing massage and release work on horses.

    I am proficient in GROUND WORK and understand the nuances and subtleties of round-pen work & lunging as a way of establishing connection, leadership, respect and boundaries for both parties. I was taught to use herd dynamics and horse behavior as a way to understand and better partner with horses. As for RIDING, I am comfortable being in the saddle for hours at a time however, have only cantered a fews times and am excited to continue to grow in that area.

    I also have skills in GROUNDS KEEPING. This involved mowing, weed whacking (electric & gas operated), managing weeds (identifying poison ivy, stinging nettles, etc.), watering flower beds, trimming bushes and low-hanging tree branches, and clearing debris after storms. I also managed volunteers and was responsible for the entire ranch when the owner would go out of town.

    I have recently completed "Exploring the Equine Hoof" and the "Beginner Trim" course in barefoot, whole horse care.

    I am comfortable DRIVING a Gator (side by side utility vehicle), a Chevy Silverado 2500 HD 3/4 Ton Truck and have driven 15 passenger Vans in the past as well. I haven’t yet learned to drive with a horse trailer but its a skill I am eager to learn.

    APART FROM HORSEMANSHIP, I have spent much of my life working with At-Risk Youth, Kids on the Autistic Spectrum and Teenagers in general. I also have management experience from working at a popular coffee shop and as well as our family restaurant.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Sign language (American): Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    While learning a new language isn't my main reason for joining workaway, I am interested in learning American Sign Language and more Spanish. In the past I have had close friends who knew English as their 2nd language and would work with them to help teach them better English.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    43

  • Was noch ...

    I can be a bit of a nerd at times in that one of my most favorite things to do when traveling to a new place is to learn to identify new types of plants, trees and birds that I’m unfamiliar with and, yes, I have apps that help me do so.

    I also love science and anatomy and don’t get grossed out easily. I'd love to get to see the birth of foals, calves or really any animal. For the most part I am good around bugs, reptiles and vermin; there are wolf spiders all over out here. It’s just the unexpected or surprise spider/snake that may temporarily catch me off guard.

    I am a calming force in the midst of emergencies and tend to use humor to deescalate stressful situations. While I don’t enjoy conflict, I understand that it’s also a part of life and I can appreciate being spoken to directly when respect is maintained.

    Alas, I am not a cook. People tend to think that I'm joking or being funny, but I'm not. =) I'm not saying I can't manage to feed myself, I can, however, I typically feel completely out of my element in the kitchen. BUT I believe my skills in other areas make up for it. [I'd also be willing to learn some if it's a real need.]

    I truly enjoy the diversity that makes up humanity and love to learn about & experience different cultures. I'm really looking forward to learning and growing through these experiences!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      I have seasonal allergies but manage them well enough to be outside year round.

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Only that I try to avoid processed food and sugar as much as possible and eat very little dairy. Proteins, vegetables and fruits are my happy place.

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback

Dieser Workawayer hat noch keine Bewertungen erhalten.