Scheduled server update :) The site will be offline for an estimated 60 minutes starting at 11:00 h CET / 17:00 h HKT (current server time: 10:36 CET). Thanks for your patience.   close ×

Darren & Michelle

aus: Irland

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Paar / zwei Freunde

  • ...


    Argentinien, Australien, Bahamas, Belize, Cayman Islands, Chile, Costa Rica, Honduras, Indonesien, Mexiko ... more

  • Abzeichen

    Super Workawayer

  • Unser Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Married fun loving couple, friendly ,outgoing, animal loving, trustworthy and very hard working , Looking to experience more of real life away from all the hustle and bustle of urban living and the 9 to 5 chaos.
    Love the outdoors and have the energy and ability to turn our hands to anything with a keeness to learn also.
    We spent 2 months travelling the Kingdom of Tonga in 2016/17 which was out of this world and met a lot of great people with very different attitudes on life compared to what we're used too.
    Also we were extremely lucky on one of our meetings and were asked if we'd be interested in coming back in 2 months time to take care of an off grid tourist resort on a island with ONLY 20 cats to take care of for a further 2 months .
    This would involve maintaining the property and keeping the property safe also with 20 cats we would need to catch lots of fish .So after thinking it through for all of 2 minutes we agreed and 2 months later we were back in Tonga after another 3 days of travel . We had the most amazing time here only needing to do maintenance and mostly security of the property and providing 20 cats with food from the sea . We were left with a small boat and outboard with which we managed with to see a lot of surrounding islands and land some big fish ,which of course was amazing.
    Probably not for everyone 😁 but we loved it and longed to experience the different pace of life again.
    So when we got home we then discovered workaway and not long after becoming a member we were invited back to Tonga through Workaway this time in 2018 and ended up taking care of another island resort as the owners would be away for the first 4 weeks, this time we would be looking after 2 great dogs and many chickens . Again this was off grid with solar as our only power source and water was harvested by rainfall which all needed daily checks so as to make sure we got the most we could out of mother nature .
    During our time there we maintained gardens , mowed grass ,strimed weeds, rotovated beds , collected fallen coconuts and all the other stuff that goes with keeping property tidy also raking beaches and collecting washed in corals and weed to use in some way or another . We kept all fales/accomadions clean and maintained. We also created pathways ,veg gardens made electrical ,plumbing,carpentry and plastering repairs including lots of paint work. Also we made a 2km trail through the bush with several viewing points useing only machetes which was alot of fun .We spent a further 5 weeks when the owners came back and loved every minute apart from a week long cyclone which tore all our hard work to shreds .
    In 2019 we were invited once again to house sit another resort for 9 weeks , this time in Panama, here we took care of 2 dogs a cat ,chickens ,rabbits and a toucan ,this again was off grid so all the same stuff again that goes with off grid properties but of course all properties are different but I think the owners review covers mostly everything .
    Here we left once again with a few more friends but a little more Spanish
    Can't wait for the next one
    All destinations will be considered .

  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  


    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  


    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    20 plus years as an irrigation engineer/ outdoor watering systems and landscaping . Plus 15 years prior in the building trade ie foundations , shuttering , flooring , plastering , block laying , roofing , carpentry , plumbing , electrical and decorating. I am also an excavator and chainsaw operator and have a passion for landscaping especially where water is involved.
    Qualified accountant ,administration, organisation and management skills. Cooking and cleaning, sewing, knitting..

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    51 & 46

  • Nationalität


  • Was noch ...

    We have our own motor boat so boat handling and fishing and just being on the water is what we love most. Would love to learn how to sail though. We recently built our own lean-to glasshouse and started growing fruit and vegetables, So far so good :) We've also built a pond in our garden with a bridge and decking and have been creative with rockeries and weaving swing seats . We do all our own work on our property which not only saves us money but can be lots of fun and gives us a lot more satisfaction . Our garden is small though and we're now feeling like our work theremay be done. So we now do workaway where we hope to find the perfect destination.
    Again we will consider any destination worldwide.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung