Emily & Ollie

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Tätigkeiten, die uns interessieren:

    Ollie and I began our first Work-Away in April 2021 and have since completed Work Aways in Scotland, Croatia, Slovakia, Wales and BC, Canada. We love travelling and outdoor activites!

    Unser nächstes Reiseziel:

    British Columbia, Canada - von Apr 2023 bis Jun 2023
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    We are Ollie & Emily - both 2u9 year olds who joined Work Away in March 2021 and since then we have had the pleasure of volunteering with various Work Away hosts in Europe and Canada.

    We are British but currently enjoying a working-holiday visa in Canada including completing a ski-season at Panorama Resort, hiking the Sunshine Coast Trail, working at a YMCA summer camp and now working at Big White Resort.

    We are currently only looking for a host for us both between approx 12th April- end of June 2023. For now, we are interested in hearing from hosts offering paid-opportunities in BC. Also, ideally there would be some carpentry focused work for Ollie to get stuck into!

    We thoroughly enjoyed our first Work Away experiences and are now looking forward to meeting more new people, gaining further skills, exploring local areas and supporting hosts as much as possible. Both easy going and hardworking, we are open to and excited by lots of the projects on Work Away. Having both previously travelled and worked abroad, we are able to adapt quickly to new living and working environments, which we feel is a valuable skill for a Work-Awayer.

    Ollie

    Having completed 5 years in the British Naval Service, I really appreciate our current life-style free from too many restrictions and travelling as much as possible. My main passions are mountain biking and surfing, but I enjoy anything outdoors really: bouldering, hiking, snowboarding etc. Being outdoors and doing sports makes me feel so grateful and I enjoy doing my favourite activities in new and beautiful locations.

    As well as my existing hobbies, I really enjoy the experience of learning something totally new. Last year, I started to grow my own vegetables in the garden. This is very new and I am in the novice stages but I enjoyed it - even if it was a very small harvest!

    Emily

    I am a trained Primary School Teacher, with a special interest in Early Years. As well as teaching, I am interested international development, community volunteering and working with refugees. Over the past few years, these interests have led me to spend 8 months in Kenya on a youth-led development project, time in South Africa promoting positive Sexual Health practices and volunteering in Calais with refugees.

    I enjoy learning about different sustainable ways of living when volunteering with Work Away. I am also gradually becoming more handy at DIY and gardening as I pick up new skills along the way. During previous Work Aways I supported with:

    -Campervan conversions
    -Gardening eg mulching
    -Manual Labour (moving firewood)
    -Fruit-picking
    -House-renovations eg plastering, painting and building a concrete step.
    -Child-care
    -Hospitality eg welcome host at a camp-site
    -House-keeping - cleaning at a campsite.

    Together

    Together, we spend our free time camping, hiking, biking - anything outside! We have a car here in Canada so we are independent and just love the outdoors!

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wassersport
    Mannschaftssportarten
    Wintersport
    Fitness
    Radfahren
    Tanzen
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Tischlerarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Musik

    mehr
  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Ollie

    Studying Outdoor Education at university allowed me to develop a number of skills related to this industry such as risk assessment, coaching and leadership. I further developed these skills whilst working two seasons at Camp America as a water-sport instructor for teens.

    Beyond outdoor pursuits, I have experience working as a labourer and general maintenance including: tree planting, painting/decorating, driving dumpers, fencing and some limited experience in brick laying. Similarly, I have self-taught myself some basic carpentry skills as I have renovated my transit van into a camper. During my Work Away in Scotland April 2021, I have had the opportunity to work closely with a professional carpenter in his work-shop, primarily assisting to build a Tiny House. For example, with initial instruction from the host (and him being available for questions when needed), I have made a wine-glass holder, fitted work-surfaces, fitted drawers, hung a door with mitre and assembled a step-ladder and a sliding door. During this period, I have therefore developed my confidence when independently using a range of tools such as: a plainer, electric plainer, router, still-saw, mitre saw, jig-saw, electric sanders and a table saw. Please contact us for pictures if you wish.

    When serving in the Navy, I learnt many skills such as: ship maintenance, seamanship, water survival, boat driving as well as how to clean something till you can see your face in it! Very high standards! On top of this, I also now highly value punctuality and I am able to follow instructions well and work hard.

    At home, I have always had animals from chicken, quails, snakes, dogs and budgies so I am happy to help out with any animal care. I also know my way around a kitchen and enjoy cooking.

    Emily

    As a qualified teacher with a Masters in Creative education, my main skill set is with the educational field. As well as working in traditional classroom settings, I have experience working in educational contexts in the international development sector such as providing mobile education for refugees in Northern France; working as an English Language assistant in France; au-pairing and delivering peer education in Kenya and South Africa. These experiences have not only equipped with me teaching skills but also developed my flexibility, communication skills, resilience and sensitivity to other cultures.

    I have also developed skills such as team-work, communication and adaptability when working with local NGOs. For example, when volunteering with a Homelessness service in London, I worked within a team to develop a curriculum for the service users. During the Corona Virus Lockdown, I further developed my problem solving and communication skills when taking an active role in supporting a local network to help vulnerable households with shopping and prescriptions, This involved training new volunteers, responding to feedback quickly to improve services and systems and managing team of volunteer callers. I also have sound communication skills when working with vulnerable groups developed when supporting local food banks. Overall, I think my experience volunteering locally and internationally have equipped me with the skill to adapt quickly to new situations, get along with a range of people from various backgrounds an cultures and learn quickly.

    During a Work Away in Scotland, I developed my confidence with DIY and can now do the basis e.g. use a drill/impact driver. As a volunteer, I supported with work on the roof (using ladders). nailing in cabling, manual labour such as moving fire wood and supporting with chain-sawing, mulching in the gardening and painting/sanding for a campervan conversion.

    I love being outdoors and being active. I love hiking, mountain biking, paddle-boarding and camping.

  • Alter

    29 & 29

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback